Create account / Log in

Invisable trait not allowing report trail to work at all

Topics related to Vassal game modules.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Invisable trait not allowing report trail to work at all

Postby ChuckS » August 13th, 2020, 8:13 pm

Is that as designed or a bug? I wanted to manually report position based on range even if the unit is hidden, naval miniatures design I am working on. At first I thought the InvisibleToOthers was the problem but I tried a simple crtl R to trigger the report and while hidden it will not report at all.

Only work around I can think of is to somehow manually check ranges using the escorts and trigger the report that way but it will be much more work.

Any suggestions? It happens in the older vassal and the new 3.3.2 tried two different 1.8.0_xxx versions of java same thing. Windows 7.
ChuckS
 
Posts: 118
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Re: Invisable trait not allowing report trail to work at all

Postby Brent Easton » August 13th, 2020, 9:42 pm

Have a look at this wiki section on trait order http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Creati ... t_Problems.

An active invisible trait will prevent enclosed Report Traits from reporting. Try moving the the Report Trait below the Invisible Trait in the list of traits for that piece.
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3226
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: Invisable trait not allowing report trail to work at all

Postby ChuckS » August 14th, 2020, 12:06 am

Doesn't matter still does the same thing, total shutdown of all reporting.
ChuckS
 
Posts: 118
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Re: Invisable trait not allowing report trail to work at all

Postby ChuckS » August 14th, 2020, 12:19 am

Beta test version fixes it though!
ChuckS
 
Posts: 118
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm


Return to Module General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron