Page 1 of 2

repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: August 22nd, 2014, 5:00 pm
by mkiever
Hello Forum,

I am trying to use the WS&IM module.
The "return to deck" trait of the cards isn't working for me. (some go to the wrong deck)
I already asked here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=7553

How would I go about repairing this function?
I tried:
- reselecting the deck where the card should go.
(I added names to the decks, they had no name in the module)
> no change.
- removing the "return to deck" trait from the cards and re-assign it.
> no change. Especially "return to deck" is still working the wrong way
even if I remove the trait (How can this happen ???)
- changing the menu entry name to see the different menu entries for the different cards.
> no change, the menu entry name does not change (How can this happen ???)

I am quite new to VASSAL, any help ?
Thanks, Matthias.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 2nd, 2014, 8:38 pm
by mkiever
Hello again Forum,

So I tried to rebuild the functionality in a new module from scratch
(trying to use near the same structures)
and everything's working as expected.
So it looks to me like something gets irreparably broken
when importing this old module in vassal 3.2.13.

Is this important enough to report it as a bug?
Just for info: Anyone knows how old this module is? And if anyone used it recently?

Thanks in advance for any info,
Matthias

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 2nd, 2014, 8:46 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake mkiever:
> Hello again Forum,
>
> So I tried to rebuild the functionality in a new module from scratch
> (trying to use near the same structures)
> and everything's working as expected.
> So it looks to me like something gets irreparably broken
> when importing this old module in vassal 3.2.13.
>
> Is this important enough to report it as a bug?
> Just for info: Anyone knows how old this module is? And if anyone used
> it recently?

Return to Deck works in 3.2.13, so far as I know. What have you tried?

--
J.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 5th, 2014, 1:10 pm
by mkiever
I downloaded the module from the WSIM module page and opened it in vassal 3.2.11 (later 3.2.13).
I open it and choose solo to have access to all four player windows
each with two decks of one card.
When I drag these cards to the main map and use "return to deck"
some go to the wrong deck (consistently btw.)

I then tried to repair the module in the editor but nothing really worked,
there were even some odd things happening. See first post for details.

And yes, "return to deck" works in 3.2.13. I tried rebuilding the module from scratch
and everything works as advertised.

Thank you for your time,
Matthias.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 8th, 2014, 9:08 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake mkiever:
> I downloaded the module from the WSIM module page and opened it in
> vassal 3.2.11 (later 3.2.13).

Which WSIM module? There appear to be two there.

--
J.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 8th, 2014, 9:12 pm
by mkiever
No, only looks like it.
Only the 1.0 (WSIM.zip) archive is a module.
The archive labelled 1.2 (WSMv12.zip) is a set of rules (for tournaments afaik).

Thanks, Matthias.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 8th, 2014, 10:00 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake mkiever:
> No, only looks like it.
> Only the 1.0 (WSIM.zip) archive is a module.
> The archive labelled 1.2 (WSMv12.zip) is a set of rules (for tournaments
> afaik).

Ok. I checked the 1.0 module. The buildFile indicates it was created
with VASSAL 1.3.1.1, which was released on 8 January 2004. That
significantly predates the oldest version we have in our release
archive (2.0.5).

So, I'm not at all surprised that this module doesn't work with 3.2.
It probably didn't work with 3.1 or 3.0 either. It needs to be rebuilt.

--
J.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 9th, 2014, 8:29 am
by mkiever
Thanks, that explains some of the odd things that happened.
It would be nice though if vassal could report the incompatibility.
Shall I put a note on the module page or do you want to do it ?

Thanks again, Matthias.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 9th, 2014, 8:45 am
by uckelman
Thus spake mkiever:
> Thanks, that explains some of the odd things that happened.
> It would be nice though if vassal could report the incompatibility.

I don't know how we'd go about systematically detecting the
incompatibility. We don't know which change or chagnes caused it, so
the only way to do it would be manually.

> Shall I put a note on the module page or do you want to do it ?

Go for it.

If you're rebuilding the module yourself, please consider uploading your
new version. The old one isn't of much use to anyone the way it is.
--
J.

Re: repairing

PostPosted: September 9th, 2014, 5:09 pm
by mkiever
>> Shall I put a note on the module page or do you want to do it ?
> Go for it.
Done.

>If you're rebuilding the module yourself, please consider uploading your
>new version. The old one isn't of much use to anyone the way it is.

First contact with vassal has not really been productive...don't really know.
FYI, there was another user working recently on a WSIM module (rhett).
He did not came back since his posts, I tried to contact him.

Thanks again for explaining the odd behaviour, Matthias.

Re: repairing

PostPosted: September 9th, 2014, 5:47 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake mkiever:
>
> First contact with vassal has not really been productive...don't really
> know.

What have you had problems with, other than this? I'd think that WSIM
would be fairly easy to handle.

--
J.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 11th, 2014, 1:23 am
by Ichibrothers
Matthias,
I was able to open the original 1.0 mod in edit mode using 3.2.13. Edited the Spanish and American decks so the "cards" returned to the proper deck. Saved it, and it worked fine. Have not edited a VASSAL mod in ages, so didn't try to mess with anything else. Have not tried online, but everything appears to be working as intended.....as much as I remember since I made this YEARS ago!

Bill

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 11th, 2014, 4:08 pm
by mkiever
Hello Bill,

Hm, magic fingertips ?
Did you have to give names to the decks or just re-assigned ?
I'll try to find some time soon to retry.

Thank you, Matthias.

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: September 12th, 2014, 12:24 pm
by Ichibrothers
Matthias,
I just re-assigned the deck for the cards to return to.

Bill

Re: repairing "return to deck" in WS&IM module

PostPosted: October 6th, 2014, 7:13 pm
by Stiglr
Since when did WS&IM feature *cards*???

(I haven't played it since the '70s)