Create account / Log in

Named Key Strokes

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Named Key Strokes

Postby fil512 » July 29th, 2010, 3:42 pm

The thing that struck me the most odd about the VASSAL programming language is that function calls are implemented via keystrokes. I'm clearly not the only one who thought this was strange, as I see support for "Named Key Strokes" in the code implemented by a gentleman named Brent Easton.

The thing that's not clear to me is how the end-user is to enter a Named Key Stroke. If I type a name, the field just keeps cycling through each key that I press. How do you enter a name for a named keystroke? I had a quick look through NamedHotKeyConfigurer.keyPressed() and I see the support for it there, but I can't figure out how to get it to work...

Thanks,
Ken
fil512
 
Posts: 160
Joined: June 27th, 2010, 5:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: [messages] [Developers] Named Key Strokes

Postby Tim M » July 29th, 2010, 3:58 pm

The End user is not supposed to be able to enter a Named keystroke

The purpose of Named keystrokes was for hidden keycommands such as those
silently activated by Trigger Action that the user would not see nor could
accidentally press by mistake on their keyboard causing unintended consequences


________________________________
From: fil512
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Sent: Thu, July 29, 2010 10:42:40 AM
Subject: [messages] [Developers] Named Key Strokes

The thing that struck me the most odd about the VASSAL programming
language is that function calls are implemented via keystrokes.� I'm
clearly not the only one who thought this was strange, as I see support
for "Named Key Strokes" in the code implemented by a gentleman named
Brent Easton.

The thing that's not clear to me is how the end-user is to enter a Named
Key Stroke.� If I type a name, the field just keeps cycling through each
key that I press.� How do you enter a name for a named keystroke?� I had
a quick look through NamedHotKeyConfigurer.keyPressed() and I see the
support for it there, but I can't figure out how to get it to work...

Thanks,
Ken

_______________________________________________
Read this topic online here:
viewtopic.php?p=18978#p18978
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1777
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: [messages] [Developers] Named Key Strokes

Postby mkiefte » July 29th, 2010, 4:10 pm

I believe you are referring to a feature that will be present in the next
major release. This is not possible in the current release, however.

- M.

On 29 July 2010 12:42, fil512 wrote:

> The thing that struck me the most odd about the VASSAL programming
> language is that function calls are implemented via keystrokes. I'm
> clearly not the only one who thought this was strange, as I see support
> for "Named Key Strokes" in the code implemented by a gentleman named
> Brent Easton.
>
> The thing that's not clear to me is how the end-user is to enter a Named
> Key Stroke. If I type a name, the field just keeps cycling through each
> key that I press. How do you enter a name for a named keystroke? I had
> a quick look through NamedHotKeyConfigurer.keyPressed() and I see the
> support for it there, but I can't figure out how to get it to work...
>
> Thanks,
> Ken
>
>

I believe you are referring to a feature that will be present in the next major release.� This is not possible in the current release, however.

- M.

On 29 July 2010 12:42, fil512 <ken.stevens@sympatico.ca> wrote:

The thing that struck me the most odd about the VASSAL programming

language is that function calls are implemented via keystrokes. �I'm

clearly not the only one who thought this was strange, as I see support

for "Named Key Strokes" in the code implemented by a gentleman named

Brent Easton.



The thing that's not clear to me is how the end-user is to enter a Named

Key Stroke. �If I type a name, the field just keeps cycling through each

key that I press. �How do you enter a name for a named keystroke? �I had

a quick look through NamedHotKeyConfigurer.keyPressed() and I see the

support for it there, but I can't figure out how to get it to work...



Thanks,

Ken


User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada


Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest