Create account / Log in

Question about Game Piece Inventory Window..

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Question about Game Piece Inventory Window..

Postby eekamouse » October 12th, 2010, 9:47 pm

OK, so I have two decks in my game.... Well I have a central deck that player's pull cards from and add to their own personal deck, so I can really have up to 5 decks (1 central and 1 for each of 4 possible players).

Each card has a value, so I put a Marker on all the cards. (Honor = 1, Honor = 2, etc... etc...), to signify their Honor value.

I then created a Game Piece Inventory Window to count all of this. Right now it counts ALL of the cards across the game, but I want it to count just the cards in a player's deck. I would make 4 of these windows and make each available only to the respective side.

I tried adding some different expressions to the "Show only pieces matching these properties" value, but can't get anything to work. It always shows ALL the cards.

I've tried the following:

"Player1_Deck" which is the name of the deck.
"Player1_Hand" which is the name of the Player Hand.
"Player1_Board" which is the name of the map board in the Player Hand.
"Player1_Hand_Player1_Deck"
"Player1_Board_Player1_Deck"
"Player1_Hand_Player1_Board_Player1_Deck"

What could I be doing wrong? :)

Thanks!
eekamouse
 
Posts: 25
Joined: October 1st, 2010, 1:34 am

Re: [messages] Edit: [Module Design] Question about Game Pie

Postby Brent Easton » October 12th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Have you checked the Properties page in the reference manual (accessible from the Game Piece Inventory page)? 'Properties can be matched using expressions like name = value for an exact match, etc'. None of these things are expressions. You will need something like

DeckName=Player1_Deck



>I've tried the following:
>
>"Player1_Deck" which is the name of the deck.
>"Player1_Hand" which is the name of the Player Hand.
>"Player1_Board" which is the name of the map board in the Player Hand.
>"Player1_Hand_Player1_Deck"
>"Player1_Board_Player1_Deck"
>"Player1_Hand_Player1_Board_Player1_Deck"
>
>What could I be doing wrong? :)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: Question about Game Piece Inventory Window..

Postby eekamouse » October 12th, 2010, 11:08 pm

Ah awesome. Thank you. This got me moving the right direction.

Almost done! lol. Thanks again :)
eekamouse
 
Posts: 25
Joined: October 1st, 2010, 1:34 am

Re: Question about Game Piece Inventory Window..

Postby eekamouse » October 12th, 2010, 11:25 pm

Is it possible to check if a card is in a player's hand or board? I'm stabbing for the property name.

I've tried

Board = Player1_Board
and
BoardName = Player1_Board
eekamouse
 
Posts: 25
Joined: October 1st, 2010, 1:34 am

Re: Question about Game Piece Inventory Window..

Postby Tim M » October 12th, 2010, 11:39 pm

eekamouse wrote:Is it possible to check if a card is in a player's hand or board? I'm stabbing for the property name.

I've tried

Board = Player1_Board
and
BoardName = Player1_Board


use CurrentBoard = Player1_Board
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1777
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Question about Game Piece Inventory Window..

Postby eekamouse » October 12th, 2010, 11:50 pm

Woot! Thanks again.
eekamouse
 
Posts: 25
Joined: October 1st, 2010, 1:34 am


Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron