Create account / Log in

Scanning Game Board

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Scanning Game Board

Postby Extralean » November 4th, 2010, 12:04 pm

After scanning a large boardgame, how do you stitch the scans together to form 1 image inorder to install it on vassal?
Extralean
 
Posts: 121
Joined: August 2nd, 2009, 4:06 am
Location: New Brunswick, Canada (GMT -4)

Re: Scanning Game Board

Postby DrNostromo » November 4th, 2010, 2:29 pm

You would need to use a graphics program that supports layers. Then just add the pieces as separate layers, position them together and same the final image. If you don't have a graphics program that will do that, I can put it together for you.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Scanning Game Board

Postby Extralean » November 4th, 2010, 3:11 pm

I have GIMP 2 but have not figured out how to layer the images together yet. I will take another look soon.

Thanks
Extralean
 
Posts: 121
Joined: August 2nd, 2009, 4:06 am
Location: New Brunswick, Canada (GMT -4)

Re: Scanning Game Board

Postby combatengineer » November 4th, 2010, 3:35 pm

I just used Gimp 2 to put together 8 scans that made up a 24 x 32 inch wargame map. Did not use layers at all. Simply made a new image that was big enough to hold the eight pieces, then copied and pasted them. The program lets you adjust the placement during the 'paste' operation. the scans had enough over lap and the job took 10 minutes.
combatengineer
 
Posts: 21
Joined: September 15th, 2009, 6:14 pm


Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests