Create account / Log in

pieces always on top?

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

pieces always on top?

Postby dennycrane » March 1st, 2011, 5:54 pm

I have a module I'm working on, where there is a section of the board that is selectable, so that I can change the layers on it for various things. Problem is that when I select that board section, any pieces or cards that had been moved on top of it are now underneath it and cannot be seen or selected. Is there a way to make it so that pieces can be made to be always on top of everything (and/or pieces always on the bottom), no matter what?

Thanks much.
dennycrane
 
Posts: 14
Joined: September 9th, 2010, 7:28 am

Re: [messages] [Module Design] pieces always on top?

Postby Tim M » March 1st, 2011, 6:18 pm

you need to define game piece layers and then define which objects belong to
which game piece layer




________________________________
From: dennycrane
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Sent: Tue, March 1, 2011 11:54:08 AM
Subject: [messages] [Module Design] pieces always on top?

I have a module I'm working on, where there is a section of the board
that is selectable, so that I can change the layers on it for various
things.  Problem is that when I select that board section, any pieces or
cards that had been moved on top of it are now underneath it and cannot
be seen or selected.  Is there a way to make it so that pieces can be
made to be always on top of everything (and/or pieces always on the
bottom), no matter what?
Thanks much.

_______________________________________________
Read this topic online here:
viewtopic.php?p=22026#p22026
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1777
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: pieces always on top?

Postby dennycrane » March 1st, 2011, 6:23 pm

That would be a fantastically helpful answer... if I had any idea how to actually do that. :? Can you please be more specific?

Thanks.
dennycrane
 
Posts: 14
Joined: September 9th, 2010, 7:28 am

Re: pieces always on top?

Postby dennycrane » March 1st, 2011, 6:41 pm

Okay, I found the link for working with Markers: http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Advanced_markers But where is the actual "Game Piece Layers" dialogue that I see there? I can't seem to find that, or where to add that, anywhere in my module.

Where is this??
Image
dennycrane
 
Posts: 14
Joined: September 9th, 2010, 7:28 am

Re: pieces always on top?

Postby dennycrane » March 1st, 2011, 6:48 pm

I found it... it's an option in the Map Window.

Okay, I got it working. Thanks!
dennycrane
 
Posts: 14
Joined: September 9th, 2010, 7:28 am


Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest