Create account / Log in

Vassal doesn't open =[

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 8th, 2011, 3:43 pm

I have windowns 7 and have the latest version of vassal. When I double click the icon Vassal opens for a split second and then immediately closes. Please please help :|
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Vassal doesn't ope

Postby uckelman » March 8th, 2011, 6:16 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> I have windowns 7 and have the latest version of vassal. When I double
> click the icon Vassal opens for a split second and then immediately
> closes. Please please help :|
>

What version of Java do you have installed?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8137
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 8th, 2011, 6:31 pm

latest
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 8th, 2011, 6:55 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> latest
>

Please give the version number. I don't know what version you think the
latest version is.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8137
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 8th, 2011, 7:01 pm

I thought the problem was java myself before posting this thread so I went to their site to check my java. it is the latest. fact, not what I think.
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 8th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> I thought the problem was java myself before posting this thread so I
> went to their site to check my java. it is the latest. fact, not what I
> think.
>

Is there a reason why you can't tell me the actual version number of
what you have installed?


--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8137
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 8th, 2011, 7:26 pm

sigh... version 6 update 24
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 8th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> sigh... version 6 update 24
>

Thank you. I've had people tell me before that they're running the "latest"
version when they're not; I've also had it happen that a new update has been
released since the last time I checked myself. Having a version number
ensures that we're talking about the same version.

To troubleshoot this, we need to determine a few things:

Can you run Java from a terminal? Bring up a terminal window (one way is
to go to Run and type 'cmd'). Type 'java -version' at the prompt and hit
enter. What you you get as output?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8137
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 8th, 2011, 8:05 pm

java version "1.6.0_24"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode, sharing)
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 8th, 2011, 8:19 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> java version "1.6.0_24"
> Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07)
> Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode, sharing)
>

This means your JVM appears to be working. That's good.

From within the terminal, change directories to where you installed
VASSAL. The default install location is C:\Program Files\VASSAL. If
you didn't change the install location, that's where it will be.

So, in the terminal:

cd C:\Program Files\VASSAL

If you type 'dir', you should see VASSAL.exe and a directory called 'lib'.

Now, we're going to try running VASSAL manaully, without it's launcher.
Type this at the prompt:

javaw -client -cp lib/Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager

What happens when you do that?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8137
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 8th, 2011, 9:03 pm

you mean type it after i'm in vassal in the terminal? if so, nothing happens.
if you meant typing it from scratch, then a java virtual machine window pops up saying "Could not find the main class: VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager. Program will exit."
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 8th, 2011, 9:29 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> you mean type it after i'm in java in the terminal? if so, nothing
> happens.
> if you meant typing it from scratch, then a java virtual machine window
> pops up saying "Could not find the main class:
> VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager. Program will exit."

I meant the latter.

Ok. What do you see in C:\Program Files\VASSAL? Is there a directory
called lib? Does lib contain a file called Vengine.jar?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8137
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 8th, 2011, 9:37 pm

Yes and yes.
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 8th, 2011, 10:05 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> Yes and yes.
>

Just to be sure, try this from the VASSAL install directory:

javaw -client -cp lib\Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager

(The difference is the backslash instead of the slash. It's not
supposed to matter in the classpath argument...)

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8137
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 9th, 2011, 5:49 am

same result
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests