Create account / Log in

Vassal doesn't open =[

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 11:11 am

Thus spake kroen1987:
> same result

What directory are you doing that from in the terminal? Can you post
me a screenshot of the state of the terminal after running the command?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 9th, 2011, 11:37 am

tried both from the vassal directory and from stratch and the results (which I already copied&pasted here) were exactly the same...
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] Edit: [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal d

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 11:58 am

Thus spake kroen1987:
>
> tried both from the vassal directory and from stratch and the results
> (which I already copied&pasted here) were exactly the same...
>

Yes, I understand. I'd like to see a screenshot just to verify that
things are in the state I believe them to be; there may be something
important that I see this way which isn't obvious now.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 9th, 2011, 1:42 pm

From Vassal:
Image
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 1:59 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> From Vassal:
>
> [1] http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/2750/48579512.jpg
>

Yes, I wouldn't expect the latter one to work---in that case, the JAR
file containing all of VASSAL's classes isn't in the classpath, so it
can't be located.

The former case is the interesting one. Am I to understand that you're
not getting the error dialog in the first one that you have in the
second?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> From Vassal:
> [1]
>
> [1] http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/2750/48579512.jpg

Also, what happens if you run:

javaw -client -cp Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager

from C:\Program Files\VASSAL\lib?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 9th, 2011, 5:52 pm

1. The error dialog does not appear in the first one.
2. When I run javaw -client -cp Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager from lib Vassal opens for a split second and immediately closes.
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 6:03 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> 1. The error dialog does not appear in the first one.
> 2. When I run javaw -client -cp Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager
> from lib Vassal opens for a split second and immediately closes.

After doing #2 again, please look for a file called errorLog, which should
exist in the VASSAL directory in your user directory. Post the contents of
that here. It should show us what's going wrong.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 9th, 2011, 7:07 pm

09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.841 0 -- Starting
09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.843 0 -- OS Windows 7
09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.843 0 -- Java version 1.6.0_24
09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.843 0 -- VASSAL version 3.1.15
09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.902 0 -- Manager
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 VASSAL: Problem with socket on port 50644
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager.main(ModuleManager.java:202)
09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 7:30 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> 09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.841 0 -- Starting
> 09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.843 0 -- OS Windows 7
> 09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.843 0 -- Java version 1.6.0_24
> 09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.843 0 -- VASSAL version 3.1.15
> 09 Mar 2011 17:51:10.902 0 -- Manager
> 09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0 VASSAL: Problem with socket on port 50644
> 09 Mar 2011 17:51:12.350 0

The immediate problem you're having is that the Module Manager is unable
to connect to the socket it has set up on your computer's loopback
interface (127.0.0.1).

Do you have some piece of firewall software which is blocking connections
over 127.0.0.1?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 9th, 2011, 8:07 pm

how do I check for that?
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal doesn't

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 9:59 pm

Thus spake kroen1987:
> how do I check for that?
>

Hmm. That's where my expertise ends. I don't have a copy of Windows 7
for reference. There's probably a built-in firewall which is configured
from Control Panel or something like that---at least there was in XP.

Does anyone else know where to find these settings in Windows 7?

Another possibility is that you have some anti-virus software which is
blocking access to this port. You might also look there.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby bdgza » March 9th, 2011, 11:26 pm

From what I've googled Windows 7 handles localhost in the DNS itself, which means that if the DNS got misconfigured it could change the localhost record (which should never happen under normal circumstances). Or it's simply a firewall misbehaving. If it's a firewall, turn off all network security software on the computer (disconnect from all networks first if you want to be secure), and see if it still does not work. If it still doesn't, and all firewall/security software is definitely disabled, then it's going to be difficult to troubleshoot this.
bdgza
 
Posts: 311
Joined: February 26th, 2010, 10:51 am

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby kroen1987 » March 10th, 2011, 6:00 am

turned the firewall off and all anti-viruses off and it still behaves the same =[
does anyone have windows 7 and it works for him? maybe it's just not optimized for windows 7?
kroen1987
 
Posts: 17
Joined: March 8th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Re: Vassal doesn't open =[

Postby bdgza » March 10th, 2011, 8:49 am

It works fine on my Windows 7, it is a problem particular to your installation.

I have found an idea that you could try, it wouldn't fix your computer (which sounds to me like there is something seriously wrong with), but might fix VASSAL opening. At your own risk (you might want to make a restore point/backup):

In start menu search for "notepad", right-click notepad, open as Administrator. Confirm the choice if dialog pops up.

File > Open. Go to: C:\windows\System32\Drivers\etc
Open file "hosts" (no extension)

The file should look like this:
Code: Select all
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#   127.0.0.1       localhost
#   ::1             localhost


The line with "# 127.0.0.1 localhost", remove the leading "# " part, so it looks like this:
Code: Select all
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
127.0.0.1       localhost
#   ::1             localhost


Restart the computer. If it still starts up, VASSAL might work now.
bdgza
 
Posts: 311
Joined: February 26th, 2010, 10:51 am

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron