Create account / Log in

New developer

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

New developer

Postby bobd » March 9th, 2011, 6:50 pm

Hi,

I have contacted Joel via SourceForge to become a developer (as bobd91) but I thought that I would raise it here as well as I have some questions.

I have been doing Java since 1996, though not so much in the last few years, but I haven't been involved in Open Source before or the sort of distributed development that involves.

What branch should I fix bugs against and is there a naming convention for branches that I should follow?
Is this forum the main place for developer discussion?
Is there a difference between the bug list on SourceForge and the Vassal tracker?
After I have addressed the bugs that affect me, is it best to work on 3.1 bugs or is there anything I can do to help get 3.2 ready?

Thanks,
Bob
bobd
 
Posts: 20
Joined: March 6th, 2011, 11:09 pm

Re: New developer

Postby Tim M » March 9th, 2011, 7:35 pm

There isn't really any formal documents on branch naming conventions that I remember, but in general we have just been using our names, possibly hyphenated with what the branch purpose is, for example "bobd-bugfixes3.1". When you look in the repository under VASSAL-src/branches you'll see what I mean.

Most discussions take place here.

There should be no difference between the two trackers except for the assigned feature request/bug number. I think the preference is to work/update out of the Vassal tracker so all info/comments stays on vassal server instead of SF's.

Joel will have to answer your last question. You may want to review the roadmap to see what the plan is (somewhat)

http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Roadmap
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1777
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: [messages] [Developers] New developer

Postby uckelman » March 9th, 2011, 10:03 pm

Thus spake bobd:
> Hi,
>
> I have contacted Joel via SourceForge to become a developer (as bobd91)
> but I thought that I would raise it here as well as I have some
> questions.

I sent this in reply, but it bounced:

Hi, Bob. I don't have time to get you started this evening; I'll
see what I can do later in the week.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: New developer

Postby bobd » March 9th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Sorry about that Joel, I had my sourceforge email prefs set incorrectly, it works now.
bobd
 
Posts: 20
Joined: March 6th, 2011, 11:09 pm

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: New developer

Postby uckelman » March 11th, 2011, 10:50 am

Thus spake Tim M:
>
> There should be no difference between the two trackers except for the
> assigned feature request/bug number. I think the preference is to
> work/update out of the Vassal tracker so all info/comments stays on
> vassal server instead of SF's.

Please, please, please do not make changes in the SF bug tracker. The
only reason it's there at this point is to serve as a backup of what
goes into our Bugzilla instance. If you do modify what's in the SF
tracker, chances are nobody will ever see it.

Now that we've mostly settled in to using Bugzilla, I'm planning to turn
off the SF bug tracker, in order to avoid any confusion. (I just haven't
made it that far yet.)

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: New developer

Postby uckelman » March 14th, 2011, 10:15 pm

Thus spake Tim M:
> There isn't really any formal documents on branch naming conventions
> that I remember, but in general we have just been using our names,
> possibly hyphenated with what the branch purpose is, for example
> "bobd-bugfixes3.1". When you look in the repository under
> VASSAL-src/branches you'll see what I mean.

Bob,

If you're going to work on bug fixes (which I strongly encourage),
you should branch from the 3.1 branch.

The best thing you can do right now is help us squash bugs on the 3.1
branch. Getting into the 3.2 branch before I get it returned to a
functional state (which might happen this week, if I can get things
around here to settle down) will only be frustrating.

If you look here, you can see which bugs have been reported the most:

http://www.vassalengine.org/tracker/duplicates.cgi

The top two are both VASL bugs. If you have any interest in VASL, I'm
sure people would appreciate having those looked into. Bugs marked as
External are not ours---in most cases, these are bugs in Java that
we're waiting on to be fixed---so there's little or nothing we can do
about them. Otherwise, any bug you can fix (or even just determine the
cause of) is progress, but the more duplicates there are, the more
valuable it is to us to squash the bug. (Consider that we have to
spend time looking at bug reports, determining whether they're dupes,
etc., so the faster we can eliminate commonly reported bugs, the more
time we can spend on other things.)

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: New developer

Postby lancel » March 15th, 2011, 2:48 am

I wonder which 3.1 branch should be taken. Should it be the one labeled as "3.1 7548"? I am a bit confused because I noticed that its parent folder is labeled as "branches 7656". If so, where is this 7656 build?

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: New developer

Postby uckelman » March 15th, 2011, 9:30 am

Thus spake lancel:
> I wonder which 3.1 branch should be taken. Should it be the one labeled
> as "3.1 7548"? I am a bit confused because I noticed that its parent
> folder is labeled as "branches 7656". If so, where is this 7656 build?

The second number is the last revision which affected that directory
tree. In this case, it means that the last commit to the 3.1 branch was
revision 7548, while the last commit to any branch was 7656. (The branch
where that commit was happens to be uckelman-working2, which is where
I'm working on 3.2.)

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: New developer

Postby lancel » March 18th, 2011, 5:52 am

Hi,
I just checked out the source from "3.1 7663" branch and noticed that I got 8 Access restriction errors on DataArchive.java and MemoryUtils.java on opening the Package Explorer within Eclipse. Has anyone else seen them?

The errors are something like this:

Access restriction: The constructor AppletAudioClip(byte[]) is not accessible due to restriction on required library C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\rt.jar.

All other errors have the same rt.jar error. I wonder if I missed downloading something. (I can post a screenshot if necessary.)

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: New developer

Postby uckelman » March 18th, 2011, 9:29 am

Thus spake lancel:
> Hi,
> I just checked out the source from "3.1 7663" branch and noticed that I
> got 8 Access restriction errors on DataArchive.java and MemoryUtils.java
> on opening the Package Explorer within Eclipse. Has anyone else seen
> them?
>
> The errors are something like this:
>
> Access restriction: The constructor AppletAudioClip(byte[]) is not
> accessible due to restriction on required library C:\Program
> Files\Java\jre6\rt.jar.

AppletAudioClip is a Sun-private thing, which will be disappearing
at some point in the future. When I build from the command line, I
only get a warning about this, not an error.

What are the other classes it tells you are problematic?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: New developer

Postby lancel » March 18th, 2011, 1:16 pm

Joel,
The other errors from the MemoryUtils.java file are similar to the one below:
Access restriction: The method getTotalPhysicalMemorySize() from the type OperatingSystemMXBean is not accessible due to restriction on required library C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\rt.jar.
Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: New developer

Postby uckelman » March 18th, 2011, 2:16 pm

Thus spake lancel:
> Joel,
> The other errors from the same MemoryUtils.java are similar to the one
> below:
> Access restriction: The method getTotalPhysicalMemorySize() from the
> type OperatingSystemMXBean is not accessible due to restriction on
> required library C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\rt.jar.
> Lance
>

I think this page has your answer:

http://lkamal.blogspot.com/2008/09/ecli ... brary.html

In the long run, we need to stop using both of those classes.

For the latter one, if you know of a library which will tell us the
amount of installed RAM on the system---one which works on all platforms
we support---I'd be happy to start using it.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: New developer

Postby lancel » March 18th, 2011, 3:28 pm

Thanks. That took out the error message. I then moved on according to http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Eclipse_setup. I got into the following classNotfoundException error for "java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: add" when I ran the ModuleManager. Something missing in my classpath setup?

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: New developer

Postby uckelman » March 18th, 2011, 3:52 pm

Thus spake lancel:
> Thanks. That took out the error message. I then moved on according to
> http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Eclipse_setup[1]. I got into the
> following classNotfoundException error for
> "java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: add" when I ran the ModuleManager.
> Something missing in my classpath setup?

Is that the complete error message?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: New developer

Postby lancel » March 18th, 2011, 4:13 pm

The stacktrace is below:

<terminated> Vassal[Java Application] C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\javaw.exe (Mar 18, 2011 11:12:10 AM)

java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: add
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: add
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Exception in thread "main"

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Next

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests