Create account / Log in

3.2 builds

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

3.2 builds

Postby uckelman » August 28th, 2011, 3:03 pm

As of trunk@7785, I believe we have a trunk which largely works again. I've uploaded a current build in the usual place:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: 3.2 builds

Postby uckelman » September 7th, 2011, 9:59 pm

As of trunk@7803, I've fixed the last major problem I know of with post-3.1 code I've written. You should be able to use the svn7803 builds successfully. If not, PLEASE report the bugs you find.

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds

Now that I'm (possibly) finished with the new code I was writing for 3.2, I'll start rounding up things which need merging.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby Tim M » September 7th, 2011, 10:34 pm

The wizard no longer gives the option to remove older builds when doing
custom installation on xp although it does let me choose to remove old
builds on win7 (7803 also works on win7 w/ 64jre - ignore my test reply on
build from other day)

-----Original Message-----
From: messages-bounces@vassalengine.org
[mailto:messages-bounces@vassalengine.org] On Behalf Of uckelman
Sent: Wednesday, September 07, 2011 5:00 PM
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Subject: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

As of trunk@7803, I've fixed the last major problem I know of with
post-3.1 code I've written. You should be able to use the svn7803 builds
successfully. If not, PLEASE report the bugs you find.

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds[1]

Now that I'm (possibly) finished with the new code I was writing for
3.2, I'll start rounding up things which need merging.

[1] http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds


_______________________________________________
Read this topic online here:
viewtopic.php?p=24503#p24503
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: 3.2 builds

Postby DrNostromo » September 8th, 2011, 2:37 am

Does this build use keywords instead of key commands? ...or is that yet to be implemented?
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby Tim M » September 8th, 2011, 2:43 am

Looks like it uses both - key commands were never removed, keywords were
just added as an option you can use where there is a key command

-----Original Message-----
From: messages-bounces@vassalengine.org
[mailto:messages-bounces@vassalengine.org] On Behalf Of DrNostromo
Sent: Wednesday, September 07, 2011 9:38 PM
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Subject: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Does this build use keywords instead of key commands? ...or is that yet
to be implemented?

_______________________________________________
Read this topic online here:
viewtopic.php?p=24510#p24510
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby Tim M » September 8th, 2011, 2:57 am

From the error log down below - (a bug wont generate its minor stuff so)
and I cut all the image processing stuff...

One other thing. Is it deliberate to process and cache module images when
going into edit mode - I mean - is it necessary to do it there? I would
think the designer doesn't need that to happen, especially if they do some
editing, add image, save, close, reopen causing it to recache rinse repeat
etc.. I think that would become annoying. It should probably only run when
the player is starting I would think

2011-09-07 21:40:44,953 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2011-09-07 21:40:44,953 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows XP
2011-09-07 21:40:44,953 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version
1.6.0_27
2011-09-07 21:40:44,953 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL
version 3.2.0-svn7803
2011-09-07 21:40:44,953 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.Launcher - Editor
2011-09-07 21:40:49,984 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] WARN VASSAL.launch.BasicModule
- Crown of Roses Playtest version 5.4
2011-09-07 21:41:04,656 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] WARN VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog
- Image not found: moved
2011-09-07 21:41:24,281 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.i18n.BundleHelper
- No Translation: Editor.TriggerAction.looping_continues
2011-09-07 21:41:24,281 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.i18n.BundleHelper
- No Translation: Editor.TriggerAction.looping_ends
2011-09-07 21:41:24,296 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.i18n.BundleHelper
- No Translation: Editor.TriggerAction.looping_continues
2011-09-07 21:41:24,296 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.i18n.BundleHelper
- No Translation: Editor.TriggerAction.looping_ends

-----Original Message-----
From: messages-bounces@vassalengine.org
[mailto:messages-bounces@vassalengine.org] On Behalf Of uckelman
Sent: Wednesday, September 07, 2011 5:00 PM
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Subject: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

As of trunk@7803, I've fixed the last major problem I know of with
post-3.1 code I've written. You should be able to use the svn7803 builds
successfully. If not, PLEASE report the bugs you find.

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds[1]

Now that I'm (possibly) finished with the new code I was writing for
3.2, I'll start rounding up things which need merging.

[1] http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds


_______________________________________________
Read this topic online here:
viewtopic.php?p=24503#p24503
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: 3.2 builds

Postby morganite » September 8th, 2011, 4:59 am

I'm having this persistent problem where VASSAL is unable to overwrite the preferences file...

java.io.IOException: Unable to overwrite C:\Users\Morgan\VASSAL\Preferences, data written to C:\Users\Morgan\VASSAL\tmp7703560760892428055.zip instead.
[snipped]
Caused by: java.io.IOException: Unable to delete file: C:\Users\Morgan\VASSAL\Preferences

Don't know if this could be caused by my JRE being older than the recommended one, but I know it didn't happen with 3.1.16 . And when I'm saving a module, overwriting the existing file sometimes works and sometimes doesn't, which doesn't make sense at all.

-Morgan.
morganite
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 6th, 2011, 8:55 pm

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2011, 6:31 am

Thus spake DrNostromo:
> Does this build use keywords instead of key commands? ...or is that yet
> to be implemented?
>

It's implemented, but I'm not sure whether it's merged into the trunk
yet.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2011, 6:33 am

Thus spake morganite:
> I'm having this persistent problem where VASSAL is unable to overwrite
> the preferences file...

This is becuase you're using svn7793, but that problem wasn't fixed
until svn7803.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: 3.2 builds

Postby Brent Easton » September 8th, 2011, 12:32 pm

Thus spake DrNostromo:
> Does this build use keywords instead of key commands? ...or is that yet
> to be implemented?
>

It's implemented, but I'm not sure whether it's merged into the trunk
yet.


Yes it is merged in. You can use either Key Commands or Names.
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3073
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: 3.2 builds

Postby Brent Easton » September 8th, 2011, 1:22 pm

2011-09-07 21:41:24,296 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.i18n.BundleHelper
- No Translation: Editor.TriggerAction.looping_continues
2011-09-07 21:41:24,296 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.i18n.BundleHelper
- No Translation: Editor.TriggerAction.looping_ends


Fixed in trunk
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3073
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2011, 2:18 pm

Thus spake Brent Easton:
>
> > Thus spake DrNostromo:
> > > Does this build use keywords instead of key commands? ...or is that
> > yet
> > > to be implemented?
> > >
> >
> > It's implemented, but I'm not sure whether it's merged into the trunk
> > yet.
>
>
> Yes it is merged in. You can use either Key Commands or Names.

I think I asked you this once before, but now I don't recall what you
said. Are all of the items in the 3.2 document you sent me already
merged?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2011, 2:53 pm

Thus spake "Tim McCarron":
> The wizard no longer gives the option to remove older builds when doing
> custom installation on xp although it does let me choose to remove old
> builds on win7 (7803 also works on win7 w/ 64jre - ignore my test reply on
> build from other day)

Is that 64-bit XP? If so, I know what's wrong---the older builds
have their keys in the 32-bit registry.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby morganite » September 8th, 2011, 3:35 pm

uckelman wrote:This is becuase you're using svn7793, but that problem wasn't fixed
until svn7803.


I'm definitely seeing it less in 7803, but it still happens in the wizard when opening a module. Once I enter a password, that message appears in the blue text at the bottom of the wizard.

-Morgan.
morganite
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 6th, 2011, 8:55 pm

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: 3.2 builds

Postby Tim M » September 8th, 2011, 3:55 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake "Tim McCarron":
> The wizard no longer gives the option to remove older builds when doing
> custom installation on xp although it does let me choose to remove old
> builds on win7 (7803 also works on win7 w/ 64jre - ignore my test reply on
> build from other day)

Is that 64-bit XP? If so, I know what's wrong---the older builds
have their keys in the 32-bit registry.

--
J.


Yep - 64bit XP
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1812
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Next

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: m3tan and 5 guests