Create account / Log in

Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby uckelman » September 23rd, 2012, 2:11 pm

Thus spake barbanera:
> As in the brief description of the MH module above, I have a Turn
> Counter - called _Game Progress_ - in the module. I was hoping the same
> no-name/no-text Toolbar Menu which is hiding the _DEBUG_ Map Windows
> would also hide the Turn Counter. Alas, it doesn't. See bottom of the MH
> module in the editor.
>
> Any chance Turn Counter(s) could be included in Toolbar Menus and thus,
> if one wishes, completely hidden?

I still don't understand what you're talking about. I don't see a Turn
Tracker appearing in any of the accessible windows.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby barbanera » September 23rd, 2012, 2:18 pm

It's the small empty square next to the camera image (see snapshots above). Just click on it.

Or go to Preferences -> Turn Counter -> Dock in the toolbar

I would like to be able to hide it completely from the casual gamer (some hotkey to pop it up for testing, I guess) in both cases (free floating or docked).
barbanera
 
Posts: 395
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 2:27 pm

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby uckelman » September 24th, 2012, 8:53 pm

Thus spake barbanera:
> It's the small empty square next to the camera image (see snapshots
> above). Just click on it.
>
> Or go to Preferences -> Turn Counter -> Dock in the toolbar
>
> I would like to be able to hide it completely from the casual gamer
> (some hotkey to pop it up for testing, I guess) in both cases (free
> floating or docked).

I believe a small change to TurnTracker will do what you want. At line
368, we change

launch.setVisible(!dock);

to

launch.setVisible(
!dock && (
getAttributeValueString(BUTTON_TEXT).length() > 0 ||
getAttributeValueString(ICON).length() > 0
);

Brent, does this look ok to you?
--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby Brent Easton » September 24th, 2012, 9:37 pm

On 25/09/2012 6:53 AM, Joel Uckelman wrote:
> Thus spake barbanera:
>> It's the small empty square next to the camera image (see snapshots
>> above). Just click on it.
>>
>> Or go to Preferences -> Turn Counter -> Dock in the toolbar
>>
>> I would like to be able to hide it completely from the casual gamer
>> (some hotkey to pop it up for testing, I guess) in both cases (free
>> floating or docked).
> I believe a small change to TurnTracker will do what you want. At line
> 368, we change
>
> launch.setVisible(!dock);
>
> to
>
> launch.setVisible(
> !dock && (
> getAttributeValueString(BUTTON_TEXT).length() > 0 ||
> getAttributeValueString(ICON).length() > 0
> );
>
> Brent, does this look ok to you?
Sounds good.

--
____________________________________________________________
Brent Easton
Analyst/Programmer
University of Western Sydney
Email: b.easton@exemail.com.au
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3170
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby uckelman » September 26th, 2012, 6:41 pm

Thus spake Brent Easton:
> On 25/09/2012 6:53 AM, Joel Uckelman wrote:
> > Thus spake barbanera:
> >> It's the small empty square next to the camera image (see snapshots
> >> above). Just click on it.
> >>
> >> Or go to Preferences -> Turn Counter -> Dock in the toolbar
> >>
> >> I would like to be able to hide it completely from the casual gamer
> >> (some hotkey to pop it up for testing, I guess) in both cases (free
> >> floating or docked).
> > I believe a small change to TurnTracker will do what you want. At line
> > 368, we change
> >
> > launch.setVisible(!dock);
> >
> > to
> >
> > launch.setVisible(
> > !dock && (
> > getAttributeValueString(BUTTON_TEXT).length() > 0 ||
> > getAttributeValueString(ICON).length() > 0
> > );
> >
> > Brent, does this look ok to you?
> Sounds good.

Thanks for checking. This has been reported as Bug 4818, and fixed in
trunk@8379.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby barbanera » September 26th, 2012, 7:41 pm

That's great news Joel, thxs. Please don't forget to make 8379 available for download, though ;)
barbanera
 
Posts: 395
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 2:27 pm

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby uckelman » September 26th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Thus spake barbanera:
> That's great news Joel, thxs. Please don't forget to make 8379 available
> for download, though ;)

The fix is in 3.2.0-beta3, just released.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Weird shape showing in toolbar in 3.2.0 beta2+

Postby barbanera » September 26th, 2012, 10:02 pm

Joel, it works in hiding an empty-named turn counter - no mory ugly little square - on a default Vassal install. However, the turn counter becomes visible when one checks "Dock into toolbar" from the "Turn Counter" tab in the Preferences. Granted, a pretty obscure Preferences setting most casual users won't ever notice..
barbanera
 
Posts: 395
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 2:27 pm

Previous

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests