Create account / Log in

Attaching map window to chat window?

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby Pilz » January 23rd, 2013, 7:49 am

I'm working on a small module for a card game. The module itself is fairly complete, but during betatesting one friend commented that it would be nice if the main map was attached to the window with the chat. I've been searching for over an hour now, and all I've been able to discover was that it is the default for the first map in a module (reading it from top to bottom in the editor) to be attached in this manner. I'm completely lost as to why it isn't attaching. Any ideas?
Pilz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby DrNostromo » January 23rd, 2013, 5:52 pm

Under File -> Preferences, there's an option to "Combine application windows" if this is checked, everything will run in one window (map will be attached to chat). If not checked, everything will open as a separate window.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby Pilz » January 23rd, 2013, 8:54 pm

The Combine Application Windows option is checked. Still not connected, unfortunately.
Pilz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby uckelman » January 23rd, 2013, 10:15 pm

Thus spake Pilz:
> The Combine Application Windows option is checked. Still not connected,
> unfortunately.

This setting doesn't take affect until after you restart.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby Pilz » January 23rd, 2013, 10:56 pm

I didn't just check it. It has been checked. I went into the preferences menu and it was checked. Also, another module that I have displays the map in the same window as the chat, like I want this module to display.
Pilz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby uckelman » January 29th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Thus spake Pilz:
>
> I didn't just check it. It has been checked. I went into the
> preferences menu and it was checked. Also, another module that I have
> displays the map in the same window as the chat, like I want this module
> to display.

We need to see the module to be able to troubleshoot further.
--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby Pilz » February 1st, 2013, 8:47 pm

Not a problem!

http://www.mediafire.com/?9zn20ewdssl4f52

There's the module, in all its nooby glory.
Pilz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby uckelman » February 3rd, 2013, 9:01 pm

Thus spake Pilz:
> Not a problem!
>
> http://www.mediafire.com/?9zn20ewdssl4f52[1]
>

Uncheck "Include toolbar button to show/hide?" for the main map. Note
that you have to reload the module before this will take effect.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Attaching map window to chat window?

Postby Pilz » February 3rd, 2013, 10:13 pm

That worked! Thank you, kind sir|
Pilz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests