Create account / Log in

Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby antoniossa » January 24th, 2013, 12:08 am

Hello,

I am new to vassal. Even though it works perfectly on a mac, the case is not the same on my pc. As soon as it starts an 'uncaught exception' new window opens with an internal error message every single time, not allowing me to proceed any further. My specs are the following:

- Model HPE-030be
- Operating System WIndows 7 Home Premium
- CPU Intel (R) Core i7 CPU 860@2.80GHz 2.80GHz
- Memory 8,00 GB
- Video Card Nvidia GeForce GTX260
- Vassal version. 3.2.2 windows version
- Java version. 1.7.0_11
- Exactly what steps are required to reproduce your problem: simply turning vassal on. I never had it installed on this pc nor used it in the past. It simply crashes immediately, giving the error message I just mentioned in another window entitled 'uncaught exception'.

Following the advice on this thread viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5880 I deleted the previous versions of Java on my pc. It now only has the one stated above. Still, the problem remains unresolved.

The log of the window is as follows:

2013-01-24 00:50:21,095 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2013-01-24 00:50:21,098 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 7
2013-01-24 00:50:21,098 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.7.0_11
2013-01-24 00:50:21,098 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.2
2013-01-24 00:50:21,164 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2013-01-24 00:50:21,329 [0-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog -
java.lang.InternalError: Could not bind shell folder to interface
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.initSpecial(Native Method) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.access$300(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$1.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$1.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2$ComInvoker.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.ShellFolder.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.<init>(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2.getNetwork(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.getFileSystemPath(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.access$400(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$10.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$10.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2$ComInvoker$3.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]

Thank you in advance for your kind help, looking forward to be able to use it on my desktop.
antoniossa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 11:55 pm

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » January 24th, 2013, 8:36 am

Thus spake antoniossa:
> Hello,
>
> I am new to vassal. Even though it works perfectly on a mac, the case is
> not the same on my pc. As soon as it starts an 'uncaught exception' new
> window opens with an internal error message every single time, not
> allowing me to proceed any further. My specs are the following:
>
> - Model HPE-030be
> - Operating System WIndows 7 Home Premium
> - CPU Intel (R) Core i7 CPU 860@2.80GHz 2.80GHz
> - Memory 8,00 GB
> - Video Card Nvidia GeForce GTX260
> - Vassal version. 3.2.2 windows version
> - Java version. 1.7.0_11
> - Exactly what steps are required to reproduce your problem: simply
> turning vassal on. I never had it installed on this pc nor used it in
> the past. It simply crashes immediately, giving the error message I just
> mentioned in another window entitled 'uncaught exception'.
>
> Following the advice on this thread viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5880[1] I
> deleted the previous versions of Java on my pc. It now only has the one
> stated above. Still, the problem remains unresolved.
>
> The log of the window is as follows:
>
> 2013-01-24 00:50:21,095 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
> 2013-01-24 00:50:21,098 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS
> Windows 7
> 2013-01-24 00:50:21,098 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java
> version 1.7.0_11
> 2013-01-24 00:50:21,098 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL
> version 3.2.2
> 2013-01-24 00:50:21,164 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO
> VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
> 2013-01-24 00:50:21,329 [0-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog -
> java.lang.InternalError: Could not bind shell folder to interface
> at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.initSpecial(Native Method)
> ~[na:1.7.0_11]

What you're seeing is Bug 2381:

http://www.vassalengine.org/tracker/sho ... gi?id=2381

This is a bug in Java, not in VASSAL. We don't know why this problem
occurs on some Windows machines but not others. Would you like to help
us find a workaround? If so, then I'll see about looking at the JRE
code around where the exception is being thrown.



--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby antoniossa » January 25th, 2013, 6:45 am

I would be more than happy to oblige. Just send me a pm with what you wish me to do.
antoniossa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 11:55 pm

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » June 8th, 2013, 3:39 pm

antoniossa wrote:I would be more than happy to oblige. Just send me a pm with what you wish me to do.


Are you still having this issue with VASSAL 3.2.6 and the current version of Java (7 Update 21)?
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby antoniossa » July 13th, 2013, 7:20 am

I just downloaded VASSAL 3.2.7. It gives me the following message (and is unfortunately still not working):


2013-07-13 09:19:15,469 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2013-07-13 09:19:15,469 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 7 6.1
2013-07-13 09:19:15,469 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.7.0_11
2013-07-13 09:19:15,469 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.7
2013-07-13 09:19:15,509 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2013-07-13 09:19:15,619 [0-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog -
java.lang.InternalError: Could not bind shell folder to interface
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.initSpecial(Native Method) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.access$300(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$1.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$1.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2$ComInvoker.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.ShellFolder.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.<init>(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2.getNetwork(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.getFileSystemPath(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.access$400(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$10.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$10.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2$ComInvoker$3.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_11]
antoniossa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 11:55 pm

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby antoniossa » July 13th, 2013, 7:47 am

...and unfortunately, even after downloading Java 7 update 25 the error persists. Here you go:

2013-07-13 09:45:59,988 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2013-07-13 09:45:59,988 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 7 6.1
2013-07-13 09:45:59,988 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.7.0_25
2013-07-13 09:45:59,988 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.7
2013-07-13 09:46:00,028 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2013-07-13 09:46:00,168 [0-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog -
java.lang.InternalError: Could not bind shell folder to interface
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.initSpecial(Native Method) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.access$300(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$1.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$1.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2$ComInvoker.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.ShellFolder.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.<init>(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2.getNetwork(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.getFileSystemPath(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2.access$400(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$10.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolder2$10.call(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at sun.awt.shell.Win32ShellFolderManager2$ComInvoker$3.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_25]
antoniossa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 11:55 pm

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » July 13th, 2013, 9:15 pm

Thus spake antoniossa:
> ...and unfortunately, even after downloading Java 7 update 25 the error
> persists. Here you go:

I suspect that the bug is triggered by some unusual configuration of
Windows, or possibly something which is corrupt, since we've had reports
of this from only a handful of Windows users since 2010.

Can you tell us more about your machine? Is there anything unusual about
your setup? E.g., maybe your user directory is on a networked drive or
something like that?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » July 13th, 2013, 9:34 pm

Thus spake Joel Uckelman:
> Thus spake antoniossa:
> > ...and unfortunately, even after downloading Java 7 update 25 the error
> > persists. Here you go:
>
> I suspect that the bug is triggered by some unusual configuration of
> Windows, or possibly something which is corrupt, since we've had reports
> of this from only a handful of Windows users since 2010.
>
> Can you tell us more about your machine? Is there anything unusual about
> your setup? E.g., maybe your user directory is on a networked drive or
> something like that?

Check also the value of this registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » July 14th, 2013, 2:56 pm

To check the value of the above registry key in Windows:

1) Run regedit. (You might need to do that from the Run box in the start menu.)
2) Browse to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies in the tree in the pane on the left.
3) The last element of the key, "Explorer", will appear in the pane on the right, if it has a value.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby antoniossa » July 14th, 2013, 9:24 pm

Thank you for the explanations,

What it gives me once I press on Policies is (on the only file (?) that appears on the right):

Name: (Default)
Type: REG_SZ
Data: value not set
antoniossa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 11:55 pm

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » July 14th, 2013, 10:28 pm

Thus spake antoniossa:
> Thank you for the explanations,
>
> What it gives me once I press on Policies is (on the only file (?) that
> appears on the right):
>
> Name: (Default)
> Type: REG_SZ
> Data: value not set
>

That's too bad. Had that been set, it would have explained the problem
you're seeing.

I suspect that were you to reinstall Windows, the problem you're seeing
would go away---but that's a rather extreme solution.

Anyhow, I'm out of ideas myself, but have asked about this on
StackOverflow:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1764 ... older2-ini

Since you can reliably reproduce the problem, PLEASE don't change
anything until we have a chance to determine what the cause of the
problem is.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » July 14th, 2013, 10:59 pm

What happens if you launch VASSAL as administrator, instead of as a regular user?
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby antoniossa » August 16th, 2013, 10:05 pm

This is my pc, no one else is using it. There is no distinction between administrator and regular user.
antoniossa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 23rd, 2013, 11:55 pm

Re: Internal error every time I turn Vassal on

Postby uckelman » August 20th, 2013, 1:20 pm

Thus spake antoniossa:
> This is my pc, no one else is using it. There is no distinction between
> administrator and regular user.
>

Are you *certain* that you're running as administrator? It's quite
usual to run programs from a non-admin user account on Windows these
days.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron