Create account / Log in

Can't run 3.2.8

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Can't run 3.2.8

Postby Grotius » September 3rd, 2013, 4:36 am

I've never had trouble running Vassal before, but I just tried to upgrade to 3.2.8, and now I can't get it to start. I double-click the .exe icon, and nothing happens. I don't see a Vassal app or process in Task Manager.

I've tried running in compatibility mode, and running as administrator; no luck. Tried rebooting; no help. Also, when I install 3.2.8, I invariably see a message that 3.1.18 is already installed; I agree to uninstall it; 3.2.8 seems to install; but it doesn't work. If I delete the 3.2.8 folder and restart, I still get the message that 3.1.18 is installed. I tried nuking 3.1.18 from Control Panel, but that didn't work; I gather you don't uninstall Vassal that way.

Here's my info:

Model: AVA Direct, custom-built
OS: WIndows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1
CPU: Intel i7 930 at 2.8GHz (quad core)
Memory: 12GB
Video: GeForce GTX 580
VASSAL: 3.2.8
Java: 1.7.0_25 from Oracle Corporation
Module: N/A (though I'm trying to run the TCS module Canadian Crucible)
Chrome is my default browser.

Could Java be the problem? I've noticed that Chrome always asks permission when I load a webpage that wants to run Java.

Any help would be appreciated. This is a bummer. :(
Grotius
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 1st, 2008, 6:23 pm

Re: Can't run 3.2.8

Postby uckelman » September 3rd, 2013, 8:13 am

Thus spake Grotius:
>
> I've never had trouble running Vassal before, but I just tried to
> upgrade to 3.2.8, and now I can't get it to start. I double-click the
> .exe icon, and nothing happens. I don't see a Vassal app or process in
> Task Manager.

Look here first:

http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/VASSAL_Does_Not_Start

> I've tried running in compatibility mode, and running as administrator;
> no luck. Tried rebooting; no help. Also, when I install 3.2.8, I
> invariably see a message that 3.1.18 is already installed; I agree to
> uninstall it; 3.2.8 seems to install; but it doesn't work. If I delete
> the 3.2.8 folder and restart, I still get the message that 3.1.18 is
> installed.

It sounds like some stale registry keys from 3.1.18 weren't removed.

> I tried nuking 3.1.18 from Control Panel, but that didn't
> work; I gather you don't uninstall Vassal that way.

No, that is the way to uninstall.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Can't run 3.2.8

Postby Grotius » September 3rd, 2013, 6:11 pm

Uckelman, thanks for that guidance; it saved the day. Installing 64-bit Java fixed things. I cleverly forgot to mention that I'm running 64-bit Windows.

I guess that old Vassal fragment is still floating around in my registry, but I'm too chicken to poke around in there, so I'll just live with it. Vassal 3.2.8 is working perfectly now.
Grotius
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 1st, 2008, 6:23 pm

Re: Can't run 3.2.8

Postby uckelman » September 3rd, 2013, 6:34 pm

Thus spake Grotius:
> Uckelman, thanks for that guidance; it saved the day. Installing 64-bit
> Java fixed things. I cleverly forgot to mention that I'm running 64-bit
> Windows.

Great. I'm glad it helped. That page solves the "VASSAL won't start"
problem for nearly everybody who has it.

> I guess that old Vassal fragment is still floating around in my
> registry, but I'm too chicken to poke around in there, so I'll just live
> with it. Vassal 3.2.8 is working perfectly now.

There are some changes to the installer which will appear in 3.2.9
which will clean up any leftover registry keys, so if you keep up
with new versions of VASSAL, that problem will take care of itself.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8792
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests