Create account / Log in

Tiling images

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Tiling images

Postby Donegal » December 8th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Hi
When I open a module with the new version there is a "tiling images". What 's this exactly and when is it done? Always when opening?
Donegal
 
Posts: 102
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 11:08 am

Re: Tiling images

Postby uckelman » December 8th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Thus spake Donegal:
> Hi
> When I open a module with the new version there is a "tiling images".
> What 's this exactly and when is it done? Always when opening?

Starting with 3.2, we slice large images into pieces ("tiles") which
are stored on disk, in order to avoid image decoding and scaling while
you use VASSAL.

Tiling should happen only when the tiles for a module aren't present
in the tile cache, i.e., the first time you open a module, and
thereafter if you modify the images in the module.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Tiling images

Postby demagogue » January 28th, 2013, 9:11 am

I made a module for a certain collectable card game (not planning on releasing it; it's just for me personally). The cards are 215MB, which is tolerable (for me), but the tiles are 2.55 GB! That's giga ... which is insane.

In light of that, I'd rather prefer the image decoding & scaling in-game. Is there any way to force tiles not to be made & revert to the old method of in-game decoding & scaling? I do like the new features from v3.2, so I'd like to play with it (and not an older version) if possible.
User avatar
demagogue
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 5th, 2011, 4:42 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Tiling images

Postby uckelman » January 28th, 2013, 12:34 pm

Thus spake demagogue:
> I made a module for a certain collectable card game (not planning on
> releasing it; it's just for me personally). The cards are 215MB, which
> is tolerable (for me), but the tiles are 2.55 GB! That's giga ... which
> is insane.

Drive space is cheap these days. It's not unreasonable to use that much
space for tiling.

> In light of that, I'd rather prefer the image decoding & scaling
> in-game. Is there any way to force tiles not to be made & revert to the
> old method of in-game decoding & scaling? I do like the new features
> from v3.2, so I'd like to play with it (and not an older version) if
> possible.

No, there's no way to prevent the tiles from being written to disk
without modifying the code.

V4 will do all of the tiling in-memory, so this won't be an issue
for you then.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Tiling images

Postby demagogue » January 29th, 2013, 4:53 am

Yeah in the big scheme of things it's not too much. It's only because my HD filled up & I'm living abroad right now, and it's not easy to get an external HD where I'm at. Thanks for the answer. It's easy to just use the old version for that one game, wait till I get back to the US to get a new HD, and very nice to hear v4 makes it a moot issue eventually anyway. Cheers. :)
User avatar
demagogue
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 5th, 2011, 4:42 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Tiling images

Postby Fre20741 » September 23rd, 2013, 6:19 pm

So - where the heck is this "tile cache" on disk

I don't like it when programs "hide" things from the owner of the machine :x
Fre20741
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 7th, 2010, 8:25 pm

Re: Tiling images

Postby uckelman » September 23rd, 2013, 6:56 pm

Thus spake Fre20741:
> So - where the heck is this "tile cache" on disk
>
> I don't like it when programs "hide" things from the oner of the machine
> :x

The tile cache is not hidden. It's in the directory where VASSAL stores
its user data (along with preferences and the errorLog and such), the
location of which follows the standard practice for the various
platforms on which VASSAL runs.

Look here for the location of VASSAL's user data:

http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Error_Logs

The tile cache is in the "tiles" subdirectory.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Tiling images

Postby Fre20741 » September 23rd, 2013, 11:10 pm

Placing this data in a directory structure which is by default hidden from the user by the operating system qualifies as being "hidden" in my book of definitions. But thank you for the hint of where to look
Fre20741
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 7th, 2010, 8:25 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests