Create account / Log in

Can not open modules

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 13th, 2013, 1:44 am

I can not open modules.

I have windows 7 64 bit, i5-2500K 3.3GHz, 8 GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series (I don't remember exactly).
Vassal version 3.2.8

Java version:
java version "1.7.0_40"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_40-b43)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.0-b56, mixed mode)

I had problems to run vassal, but I managed to do it. Now when I want to load/open module It loads infinitely.

Copy from the log (for one of modules):
2013-10-13 03:25:02,074 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2013-10-13 03:25:02,077 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 7 6.1
2013-10-13 03:25:02,077 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.7.0_40
2013-10-13 03:25:02,077 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.8
2013-10-13 03:25:02,122 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2013-10-13 03:25:12,123 [0-SwingWorker-pool-1716070515-thread-1] INFO VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction - Loading module file D:\!Planszowe\X wings miniatures\Star_Wars_X-Wing_Miniatures_Game-4.5.1.vmod
2013-10-13 03:25:12,301 [0-SwingWorker-pool-1716070515-thread-1] INFO VASSAL.tools.io.ProcessLauncher - launching C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java -classpath lib\Vengine.jar -Xmx121M -DVASSAL.id=2 -Duser.home=C:\Users\Geralt -DVASSAL.port=63347 VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler D:\!Planszowe\X wings miniatures\Star_Wars_X-Wing_Miniatures_Game-4.5.1.vmod C:\Users\Geralt\AppData\Roaming\VASSAL\tiles\a9a37e867843854936a9cb3981df1129fff4107c 256 256
2013-10-13 03:25:12,866 [2-main] INFO VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler - Starting
2013-10-13 03:25:12,874 [2-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler -
java.io.IOException: Nieprawid³owe dojœcie
at java.io.FileInputStream.readBytes(Native Method) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.FileInputStream.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedInputStream.read1(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedInputStream.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.readBytes(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.implRead(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.InputStreamReader.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedReader.fill(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedReader.readLine(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedReader.readLine(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler.main(ZipFileImageTiler.java:92) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
2013-10-13 03:25:12,886 [2-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler -
java.net.SocketException: Permission denied: create
at java.net.Socket.createImpl(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler.main(ZipFileImageTiler.java:133) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
2013-10-13 03:25:12,887 [2-main] INFO VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler - Exiting

This "java.io.IOException: Nieprawidłowe dojśœcie" it is partly in polish. It means something like invalid access/handler (?) or something similar - I'm not sure :).

What can be wrong?
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 13th, 2013, 10:21 am

No one? maybe 32 bit version of java would help (but it should work with 64 bit version)?

Also I will add I have comodo firewall and nod32 (v6) antivirus.
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 13th, 2013, 10:34 am

And additional log (this time directly from file "errorLog") and with different module:

2013-10-13 12:30:56,148 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2013-10-13 12:30:56,158 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 7 6.1
2013-10-13 12:30:56,158 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.7.0_40
2013-10-13 12:30:56,158 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.8
2013-10-13 12:30:56,208 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2013-10-13 12:31:06,388 [0-SwingWorker-pool-1033000841-thread-1] INFO VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction - Loading module file D:\Eclipse_152.vmod
2013-10-13 12:31:06,608 [0-SwingWorker-pool-1033000841-thread-1] INFO VASSAL.tools.io.ProcessLauncher - launching C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java -classpath lib\Vengine.jar -Xmx269M -DVASSAL.id=2 -Duser.home=C:\Users\Geralt -DVASSAL.port=55430 VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler D:\Eclipse_152.vmod C:\Users\Geralt\AppData\Roaming\VASSAL\tiles\99f37a5ef70b34647ae8bf35bf2005475d24b237 256 256
2013-10-13 12:31:07,168 [2-main] INFO VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler - Starting
2013-10-13 12:31:07,178 [2-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler -
java.io.IOException: Nieprawidłowe dojście
at java.io.FileInputStream.readBytes(Native Method) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.FileInputStream.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedInputStream.read1(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedInputStream.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.readBytes(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.implRead(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at sun.nio.cs.StreamDecoder.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.InputStreamReader.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedReader.fill(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedReader.readLine(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.io.BufferedReader.readLine(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler.main(ZipFileImageTiler.java:92) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
2013-10-13 12:31:07,188 [2-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler -
java.net.SocketException: Permission denied: create
at java.net.Socket.createImpl(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.7.0_40]
at VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler.main(ZipFileImageTiler.java:133) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
2013-10-13 12:31:07,188 [2-main] INFO VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler - Exiting
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby uckelman » October 13th, 2013, 11:48 am

Thus spake Geralt:
> No one? maybe 32 bit version of java would help (but it should work with
> 64 bit version)?
>
> Also I will add I have comodo firewall and nod32 (v6) antivirus.
>

Something---possibly your firewall---is blocking VASSAL from connecting
over the loopback interface (127.0.0.1).

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 13th, 2013, 12:58 pm

I don't know how to check it (but I will try).

One thing: I can ping 127.0.0.1 from console (cmd.exe) and I marked vassal as trusted aplication in comodo firewall.
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 13th, 2013, 1:23 pm

As far I understand everything with loopback interface (127.0.0.1) is ok. Maybe I should check something else or you have idea how to check this "is blocking VASSAL from connecting over the loopback interface (127.0.0.1)"?

I don't know it this matters, but in console I have "general error = bład ogólny" if I ping localhost. If I ping 127.0.0.1 everything is ok
":
C:\Users\Geralt>ping localhost

Badanie Siedliszcze [127.0.0.1] z 32 bajtami danych:
Błąd ogólny.
Odpowiedź z 127.0.0.1: bajtów=32 czas<1 ms TTL=128
Odpowiedź z 127.0.0.1: bajtów=32 czas<1 ms TTL=128
Odpowiedź z 127.0.0.1: bajtów=32 czas<1 ms TTL=128

Statystyka badania ping dla 127.0.0.1:
Pakiety: Wysłane = 4, Odebrane = 3, Utracone = 1
(25% straty),
Szacunkowy czas błądzenia pakietów w millisekundach:
Minimum = 0 ms, Maksimum = 0 ms, Czas średni = 0 ms
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 13th, 2013, 1:44 pm

After more tests of ping I have some random errors on first ping (and it don't mater if it is pinf 127.0.0.1 or ping localhost). But it is not often... And second one etc. is always working.

Quitting Comodo and disabling antivirus is not helping as well.
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 14th, 2013, 4:02 pm

There is no hope for me and my computer :)?

BTW: in different tow I have my old computer with windows XP 32 bit and everything is working good...
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 15th, 2013, 12:22 pm

No help?

I will try do the following steps (when I return from work):
I)
1) Uninstall java (using tool on official page)
2) install java 64bit again [the same (the newest) version] - maybe I also try older version
II) I try to run windows in safe mode and try to run vassal (I don't know if it will be even possible)
III) I will also try to remove all references to vassal, java.exe and javaw.exe in comodo firewall and add this files to trusted programs.
IV) I will try to reinstall vassal.
V) I will double check if my windows firewall is down.
VI) Exit my commodo firewall and disable nod32 antivirus

Anyone has different ideas how to try to resolve this error?

Question:
- Should I have maped localhost in windows hosts file (127.0.0.1 localhost)? I think that it does not matter, but I added this line...
- Should java add any environment variable - rather not?

Geralt
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby uckelman » October 15th, 2013, 12:35 pm

Thus spake Geralt:
> No help?
>
> I will try do the following steps (when I return from work):
> I)
> 1) Uninstall java (using tool on official page)
> 2) install java 64bit again [the same (the newest) version] - maybe I
> also try older version

These two are unlikely to help. Reinstalling Java will only solve your
problem is Java is corrupted. If you're able to run VASSAL at all, then
it's unlikely that Java is corrupted.

> II) I try to run windows in safe mode and try to run vassal (I don't
> know if it will be even possible)
> III) I will also try to remove all references to vassal, java.exe and
> javaw.exe in comodo firewall and add this files to trusted programs.
> IV) I will try to reinstall vassal.

Reinstalling VASSAL will solve your problem only if VASSAL is corrupted.
If you're able to run VASSAL at all, then it is unlikely that VASSAL is
corrupted.

> V) I will double check if my windows firewall is down.
> VI) Exit my commodo firewall and disable nod32 antivirus

Of these, III, V and VI have some chance of solving your problem. I
can't say for II, as I don't know what Windows does with the loopback
interface in safe mode.

You might also try running VASSAL as admin.

> Question:
> - Should I have maped localhost in windows hosts file (127.0.0.1
> localhost)? I think that it does not matter, but I added this line...

You shouldn't need to do that.

> - Should java add any environment variable - rather not?

I don't see any way that would help.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 15th, 2013, 12:40 pm

Can you check this page?

https://intellij-support.jetbrains.com/ ... r-Java-1-7

Should I try this or it can not be related?
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby uckelman » October 15th, 2013, 1:42 pm

Thus spake Geralt:
> Can you check this page?
>
> https://intellij-support.jetbrains.com/ ... r-Java-1-7[1]
>
> Should I try this or it can not be related?

I can't predict whether any of these things will work. The suggestions
which are specific to FTP are probably irrelevant, though, as we're not
using FTP.

If you want to try setting any JVM options, you'll need to start VASSAL
using the included batch file, VASSAL.bat, rather than from VASSAL.exe.

You might trying to run with Java 6 instead of Java 7.

Please let us know what does and does not work for you.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Can not open modules

Postby Geralt » October 15th, 2013, 5:51 pm

V like Victory ;).

Before I did anything in home:
I found in Defence+ accidents log in Comodo that Vengine.jar was added to sandbox mode as partly limited application. Then I added this file Vengine.jar to trusted applications in Defence+ module (not in comodo firewall module) and I was able to load modules... :)

Geralt
Geralt
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 13th, 2013, 1:33 am

Re: Can not open modules

Postby uckelman » October 15th, 2013, 6:09 pm

Thus spake Geralt:
> V like Victory ;).
>
> Before I did anything in home:
> I found in Defence+ accidents log in Comodo that Vengine.jar was added
> to sandbox mode as partly limited application. Then I added this file
> Vengine.jar to trusted applications in Defence+ module (not in comodo
> firewall module) and I was able to load modules... :)

Yes, that would explain the symptoms you saw. Vengine.jar is the file
which contains nearly all of VASSAL itself.

I'm glad you found a solution.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest

cron