Create account / Log in

Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby BSkene » February 13th, 2014, 2:35 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake BSkene:
> I wonder if anyone running Windows 8.1 is able to open 3.2.10?
>

I have no idea, as I haven't been able to get anyone else using Windows
8.1 to try it and report on the results.

Please do what I recommended to sithstalker.

--
J.



This started when I opened 3.2.9 for the first time in Windows 8.1. It seemed to open fine, but prompted me to download 3.2.10, which was the beginning of my problems.

The last couple of days, 3.2.11 would run once per day after start-up. When it was closed after that, it would not open again.

Following your advice I installed 3.2.9 and then 3.2.8, then 3.2.7. None of them worked.
BSkene
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 11th, 2014, 12:15 am

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby sithstalker » February 14th, 2014, 5:12 am

Thus spake sithstalker:
> I downloaded the 3.2.11 version and installed it. It started from the
> checked box on the finish screen initially, but once closed, it would
> not restart. So, basically, the problem is the same as with the 3.2.10
> installation, except that the Launch file in jre6 in no longer there.

Uninstall and reinstall, but *don't* launch from the installer at the
end of the install. Do you have the same problem then?

Yes, the program only starts the first time it is launched, whether after installation, or after a restart of the PC. Running as admin does not resolve this situation.

> When the uninstall.exe file is used, it does not fully uninstall. The
> "Vassal 3.2.11...." folder remains with the "lib" folder inside. The PC
> must be restarted to delete that file and the parent.

This could happen because something is holding open a file inside lib.
What files are in the VASSAL install folder when this happens?


The Vassal folder, which is in "Program Files" for 3.2.10 and later, or in "Programs File (x86)" for 3.2.0 and earlier, contained the following files plus lib and doc folders:
License, Readme and Changes txt files plus Vassal and Uninst exe files.

The lib folder has many files, but those that remained after uninstall were " swing-worker-1.2.jar", "smack.jar", "sf4j-api-1.7.6.jar", "miglayout-core-4.2.jar", "logback-core-1.1.1.jar", "logback-classic-1.1.1.jar", "java-getopt-1.0.13.jar", "janino.jar", "commons-lang-2.5.jar", "commons-io-1.4.jar", "commons-compiler.jar".

> I'm not sure if
> that provides any clues, but hope that this can be resolved, as 3.2.0
> was running fine and there were not any problems.

Please find the most recent version which doesn't have these problems
for you. I would be very surprised if that's 3.2.0.

I know that I was running Version 3.2.0, as I have played many games with it. However, it appears that once V 3.2.10 was installed, something is not being removed that is causing the "one start only" situation. I loaded 3.1.19 to test this as well, and it also had the same problem.
sithstalker
 
Posts: 14
Joined: April 16th, 2013, 8:56 pm

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 14th, 2014, 11:22 pm

BSkene wrote:This started when I opened 3.2.9 for the first time in Windows 8.1. It seemed to open fine, but prompted me to download 3.2.10, which was the beginning of my problems.

The last couple of days, 3.2.11 would run once per day after start-up. When it was closed after that, it would not open again.

Following your advice I installed 3.2.9 and then 3.2.8, then 3.2.7. None of them worked.

Please post the contents of the errorLog (http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Error_Logs) following a failed attempt to launch.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 14th, 2014, 11:29 pm

sithstalker wrote:Thus spake sithstalker:
> I downloaded the 3.2.11 version and installed it. It started from the
> checked box on the finish screen initially, but once closed, it would
> not restart. So, basically, the problem is the same as with the 3.2.10
> installation, except that the Launch file in jre6 in no longer there.

Uninstall and reinstall, but *don't* launch from the installer at the
end of the install. Do you have the same problem then?

Yes, the program only starts the first time it is launched, whether after installation, or after a restart of the PC. Running as admin does not resolve this situation.

The likely problem is that another process is holding open a file that VASSAL needs to write (or possibly read) on launch.

The lib folder has many files, but those that remained after uninstall were " swing-worker-1.2.jar", "smack.jar", "sf4j-api-1.7.6.jar", "miglayout-core-4.2.jar", "logback-core-1.1.1.jar", "logback-classic-1.1.1.jar", "java-getopt-1.0.13.jar", "janino.jar", "commons-lang-2.5.jar", "commons-io-1.4.jar", "commons-compiler.jar".

This is just what you'd expect to see if these files were being held open when the uninstaller was running. Windows won't permit open files to be deleted. Did you have any version of VASSAL running when you launched the uninstaller?

Please post the contents of the errorLog from immediately after a failed launch attempt. Also, check the task manager to see if java.exe or anything similar is already running before a failed launch attempt.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby BSkene » February 15th, 2014, 10:14 pm

Here is my error log:

2014-02-14 21:07:39,966 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.6.0_45
2014-02-14 21:07:39,966 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.11
2014-02-14 21:07:39,966 [1-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.Launcher - Player
2014-02-14 21:07:41,098 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - VASSAL images folder found at jar:file:/C:/Program%20Files/VASSAL-3.2.11/lib/Vengine.jar!/images/
2014-02-14 21:07:41,103 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family go-up created for go-up.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,103 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family go-down created for go-down.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,103 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family calculator created for calculator.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,103 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family network-server created for network-server.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,103 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family yes created for yes.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,103 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family no created for no.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,103 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family VASSAL-jabber created for VASSAL-jabber.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,104 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family VASSAL created for VASSAL.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,104 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family network-idle created for network-idle.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,104 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family jabber created for jabber.png
2014-02-14 21:07:41,104 [1-IconFactory-preload] INFO VASSAL.tools.icon.IconFactory - Icon family bug created for bug.svg
2014-02-14 21:07:42,983 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] WARN VASSAL.launch.BasicModule - War and Peace - Edition 4.0.1 version 4.0.1
2014-02-14 21:08:17,182 [1-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.build.GameModule - Exiting
2014-02-14 21:08:17,651 [0-IPC receiver for 1922722747] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ipc.IPCMessageReceiver -
java.net.SocketException: Connection reset
at java.net.SocketInputStream.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_45]
at java.net.SocketInputStream.read(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_45]
at java.io.ObjectInputStream$PeekInputStream.peek(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_45]
at java.io.ObjectInputStream$BlockDataInputStream.peek(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_45]
at java.io.ObjectInputStream$BlockDataInputStream.peekByte(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_45]
at java.io.ObjectInputStream.readObject0(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_45]
at java.io.ObjectInputStream.readObject(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_45]
at VASSAL.tools.ipc.IPCMessageReceiver.run(IPCMessageReceiver.java:34) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [na:1.6.0_45]
2014-02-14 21:08:19,212 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerWindow - Exiting
BSkene
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 11th, 2014, 12:15 am

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 15th, 2014, 10:32 pm

Thus spake BSkene:
> Here is my error log:

Is this the complete contents of the errorLog? The first five lines
should be output from the Module Manager, not the player. How did you
launch VASSAL to produce this?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby BSkene » February 16th, 2014, 2:01 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake BSkene:
> Here is my error log:

Is this the complete contents of the errorLog? The first five lines
should be output from the Module Manager, not the player. How did you
launch VASSAL to produce this?

--
J.


Yes that is the complete contents. Vassal will open and function normally once per computer restart. If it is closed, it will not open again until another restart, as others have noted in this thread.
BSkene
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 11th, 2014, 12:15 am

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 16th, 2014, 2:13 pm

Thus spake BSkene:
>
> "uckelman" wrote:
> > Thus spake BSkene:
> > > Here is my error log:
> >
> > Is this the complete contents of the errorLog? The first five lines
> > should be output from the Module Manager, not the player. How did you
> > launch VASSAL to produce this?
> >
> > --
> > J.
>
>
> Yes that is the complete contents. Vassal will open and function
> normally once per computer restart. If it is closed, it will not open
> again until another restart, as others have noted in this thread.
>

When you have this problem, is java.exe already running before you start
VASSAL? Check in the task manager.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 16th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Thus spake BSkene:
>
> "uckelman" wrote:
> > Thus spake BSkene:
> > > Here is my error log:
> >
> > Is this the complete contents of the errorLog? The first five lines
> > should be output from the Module Manager, not the player. How did you
> > launch VASSAL to produce this?
> >
> > --
> > J.
>
>
> Yes that is the complete contents. Vassal will open and function
> normally once per computer restart. If it is closed, it will not open
> again until another restart, as others have noted in this thread.

Also, please answer my other question: How did you launch VASSAL when
this errorLog was produced?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby sithstalker » February 17th, 2014, 4:20 am

Please post the contents of the errorLog from immediately after a failed launch attempt. Also, check the task manager to see if java.exe or anything similar is already running before a failed launch attempt.


I have the same situation that others have described. Once the program is installed, it starts once. After that, it will only start again if one restarts the PC. Also, when I use the uninstall program, it leaves the Vassal folder containing the "lib" folder, so the PC has to be restarted again to remove those. I do not get any error messages; the program just doesn't start. So, when I brought up the error logs, there was no record. I tried again with the newly posted Version 3.2.11 and still have the same problems.
sithstalker
 
Posts: 14
Joined: April 16th, 2013, 8:56 pm

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 17th, 2014, 8:38 am

Thus spake sithstalker:
>
> I have the same situation that others have described. Once the program
> is installed, it starts once. After that, it will only start again if
> one restarts the PC. Also, when I use the uninstall program, it leaves
> the Vassal folder containing the "lib" folder, so the PC has to be
> restarted again to remove those.

As I've said, all of this is consistent with some process holding open
VASSAL's files.

> I do not get any error messages; the
> program just doesn't start. So, when I brought up the error logs, there
> was no record.

How did you "bring up the error logs"? Did you do this by looking at the
errorLog file, or through the Module Manager after the first run
attempt?

> I tried again with the newly posted Version 3.2.11 and
> still have the same problems.

That's unsurprising, because there's nothing in 3.2.11 which would
address the problem you're having.

Before attempting to launch VASSAL, check in the Windows task manger
whether java.exe is already running. My suspicion is that it will not be
on your first (successful) attempt and will be on subsequent (failed)
attempts. Please let us know whether this is the case.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby BSkene » February 17th, 2014, 4:11 pm

Before initially opening Vassal, the task manager reported only Chrome as running. I opened Vassal as usual with no problem. Then I closed it. The task manager again reported only Chrome running. Vassal, as usual, failed to open a second time.

In answer to this:

"Also, please answer my other question: How did you launch VASSAL when
this errorLog was produced? "

I don't know what else to say except what I have repeatedly, that Vassal opens once per computer restart. But isn't the error log produced when Vassal fails to open?
BSkene
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 11th, 2014, 12:15 am

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 17th, 2014, 6:37 pm

Thus spake BSkene:
> Before initially opening Vassal, the task manager reported only Chrome
> as running. I opened Vassal as usual with no problem. Then I closed
> it. The task manager again reported only Chrome running. Vassal, as
> usual, failed to open a second time.

Would you show me a screenshot of the Task Manager from between the
first and second runs of VASSAL, and then again after the second run?

> In answer to this:
>
> "Also, please answer my other question: How did you launch VASSAL when
> this errorLog was produced? "
>
> I don't know what else to say except what I have repeatedly, that Vassal
> opens once per computer restart.

What I want to know is what did you did to launch VASSAL. There's more
than one way you could be launching it, and I want to establish which
way you did it.

> But isn't the error log produced when Vassal fails to open?

An errorLog is produced by every run which gets far enough into the
launch process.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby uckelman » February 17th, 2014, 6:56 pm

Thus spake Joel Uckelman:
> Thus spake BSkene:
> > Before initially opening Vassal, the task manager reported only Chrome
> > as running. I opened Vassal as usual with no problem. Then I closed
> > it. The task manager again reported only Chrome running. Vassal, as
> > usual, failed to open a second time.
>
> Would you show me a screenshot of the Task Manager from between the
> first and second runs of VASSAL, and then again after the second run?

What I want to see in particular is the Processes tab. On Windows 8,
you need to go to "More details" to get there. There's likely to be
a longish list---take enough screenshots so that all of the rows are
visible.

On second thought, don't bother with doing this after the second run---
what I actually need is the contents of that process list from between a
successful run and a failed run.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8839
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal-3.2.10 wont start

Postby BSkene » February 18th, 2014, 5:35 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake Joel Uckelman:
> Thus spake BSkene:
> > Before initially opening Vassal, the task manager reported only Chrome
> > as running. I opened Vassal as usual with no problem. Then I closed
> > it. The task manager again reported only Chrome running. Vassal, as
> > usual, failed to open a second time.
>
> Would you show me a screenshot of the Task Manager from between the
> first and second runs of VASSAL, and then again after the second run?

What I want to see in particular is the Processes tab. On Windows 8,
you need to go to "More details" to get there. There's likely to be
a longish list---take enough screenshots so that all of the rows are
visible.




On second thought, don't bother with doing this after the second run---
what I actually need is the contents of that process list from between a
successful run and a failed run.

--
J.




Ok, I usually start it from the desktop icon--IIRC whenever I tried to start it form the apps page (or whatever microsoft calls it) it wouldn't start at all.

Here is a screenshot of the processes tab relevant to Java (the whole thing is much larger than a single screen I looked over the whole list and I did did not see a line for java.exe):



Image

I haven't done that image embed thing for so long I donlt know if I did it right, so here is the URL where you can view it:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/malkhos/12616969764/
BSkene
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 11th, 2014, 12:15 am

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests