Create account / Log in

Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby djsullivan » February 12th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Hi - I maintain the VASL module and the "Refresh Counters" menu option is not supported, returning the following error:
"The Refresher can only be used on modules and extensions saved under Vassal 3.0 or later that have GamePiece Ids allocated."

Does anyone know how to add game piece IDs to an existing module so this works?

Thanks, Sully
djsullivan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: June 19th, 2013, 5:47 pm

Re: Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby uckelman » March 1st, 2015, 10:44 pm

Thus spake djsullivan:
> Hi - I maintain the VASL module and the "Refresh Counters" menu option
> is not supported, returning the following error:
> "The Refresher can only be used on modules and extensions saved under
> Vassal 3.0 or later that have GamePiece Ids allocated."
>
> Does anyone know how to add game piece IDs to an existing module so this
> works?

If you look in the buildFile for a recent module, you'll find that each
VASSAL.build.widget.PieceSlot element in the XML has a gipd attribute
with a unique nonnegative integer value. (Each of those is important---
uniqueness is essential as is being an integer. You might be able to get
away with using a negative integer, but just don't.)

If you look in the VASL 6.2.1 buildFile you'll see that you already have
gpid attributes on all of the piece slots... So, that's not your problem.

When you see this message, do you have extensions loaded? If so, which
ones?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby djsullivan » March 3rd, 2015, 2:15 pm

I removed all extensions and am still seeing the error. -Sully
djsullivan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: June 19th, 2013, 5:47 pm

Re: Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby uckelman » March 18th, 2015, 10:57 pm

Thus spake djsullivan:
> I removed all extensions and am still seeing the error. -Sully
>

I have time to look at this again. What exactly do I need to do to
reproduce that error message? Is there a particular scenario file
I should load first?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby djsullivan » March 19th, 2015, 11:46 pm

Open any VASL saved game (attached) using 6.2.2 (http://vasl.info/download.htm). In the VASL main window select the Tools->Refresh counters and then press the Test button and you'll see the error.
Attachments
BFP-34 Hundred Regiments Offensive - End of Jap2.vsav
(20.37 KiB) Downloaded 117 times
djsullivan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: June 19th, 2013, 5:47 pm

Re: Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby uckelman » March 20th, 2015, 7:07 pm

Thus spake djsullivan:
> Open any VASL saved game (attached) using 6.2.2
> (http://vasl.info/download.htm). In the VASL main window select the
> Tools->Refresh counters and then press the Test button and you'll see
> the error.

I don't get the error with that saved game, but I'm also getting a lot
of errors in the chat pane:

- VASL version 6.2.2
- Loading BFP-34 Hundred Regiments Offensive - End of Jap2.vsav ...
- Bad Data in Module: Board not found 0 0 r32 0 0 675 -1 VER 6.0 OVR o2 c1 d1
- Bad Data in Module: Unable to build board 1 0 42 0 0 844 -1 VER 6.0
- This game was saved with extension 'BFP' loaded. You do not have this extension loaded. Place the file into the '/home/uckelman/projects/VASSAL/mods/vasl-6.2.2_ext' folder to load it
- This game was saved with extension 'ChatterPlus' loaded. You do not have this extension loaded. Place the file into the '/home/uckelman/projects/VASSAL/mods/vasl-6.2.2_ext' folder to load it
- Using board(s):
- Loaded BFP-34 Hundred Regiments Offensive - End of Jap2.vsav
- Bad Data in Module: Image not found chLMGj
- Bad Data in Module: Image not found chMMGj

What I'm seeing from Refresh Counters > Test is:

Refresh Counters - Test Mode
85 Counters can be refreshed
29 Counters can not be refreshed - Not owned
4 Counters can not be refreshed - Not found

Is there some saved game I could try which was saved without any
extensions, to rule out those as being involved?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby djsullivan » March 21st, 2015, 1:53 pm

The messages are expected as you don't have the required boards and extensions.

So, on further review this is, in fact, working in VASL. I must have forgotten to restart VASL after removing the extensions. Once I did so it works fine, which makes sense as the BFP extension adds counters and probably does not use piece IDs.

Sorry for the noise - stupid user error.

-Sully
djsullivan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: June 19th, 2013, 5:47 pm

Re: Add game piece IDs to an existing module?

Postby uckelman » March 21st, 2015, 3:27 pm

Thus spake djsullivan:
> The messages are expected as you don't have the required boards and
> extensions.
>
> So, on further review this is, in fact, working in VASL. I must have
> forgotten to restart VASL after removing the extensions. Once I did so
> it works fine, which makes sense as the BFP extension adds counters and
> probably does not use piece IDs.
>
> Sorry for the noise - stupid user error.

Hilarious. This is my favorite kind of problem resolution, as it means
there's nothing for me to do. :)

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests