Create account / Log in

Invalid Vassal Module

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Invalid Vassal Module

Postby soc11lax98 » April 10th, 2015, 3:13 am

Model:
OS: WIN7
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600k 3.4GHz
Memory: 16GB
Video: GeForce 8600M GT
VASSAL: 3.2.15
Java: 8.0.400.26
Module: Star_Wars_X-Wing_Miniatures_Game-5.2.3, Star_Wars_X-Wing_miniatures_game, Imperial_Assault_-_Skirmish_1.5

2015-04-09 20:05:33,648 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2015-04-09 20:05:33,651 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 7 6.1
2015-04-09 20:05:33,651 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.8.0_40
2015-04-09 20:05:33,651 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.15
2015-04-09 20:05:33,716 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2015-04-09 20:05:39,397 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction - -- Load of C:\Users\Dad\Downloads\Star_Wars_X-Wing_miniatures_game.vmod failed: Not a Vassal module
2015-04-09 20:05:47,351 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction - -- Load of C:\Users\Dad\Downloads\Star_Wars_X-Wing_Miniatures_Game-5.2.3.vmod failed: Not a Vassal module
2015-04-09 20:05:53,431 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction - -- Load of C:\Users\Dad\Downloads\Imperial_Assault_-_Skirmish_1.5.vmod failed: Not a Vassal module

The problem as you can see is that Vassal will not open any of the .vmods. I have referenced viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4222 and nothing there worked. I tried un/re-installing, restarting my computer, I updated JAVA, I tried changing .vmod to .zip and peazip couldn't open them. I tried downloading new copies of vassal. Please if anyone has any insight I could use the help. I've also tried installing vassal with the same modules on my WIN8 Surface Pro 3 with the same results.
soc11lax98
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 9th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Re: Invalid Vassal Module

Postby soc11lax98 » April 10th, 2015, 11:21 pm

Update: Both Imperial_Assault_-_Skirmish_1.5.vmod & Star_Wars_X-Wing_Miniatures_Game-5.2.3.vmod are now working on my WIN8 Surface Pro 3... But, still no luck with my desktop. I've again tried un/re-installing Vassal and deleting and re-downloading both .vmod files with no success.
soc11lax98
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 9th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Re: Invalid Vassal Module

Postby soc11lax98 » April 11th, 2015, 5:10 am

Despite the MAX 10kb/s download speed from vassal's servers I managed to download each of the files (for the 6th time) and miraculously by the grace of the computer GODS the vmods some how decided they were ready to be detected... needless to say, this was a major pain in the butt and I still have no idea why they never worked in the first place nor any idea on why they randomly seem to have worked all of a sudden... anyways... thanks computer gnomes for making it work...
soc11lax98
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 9th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Re: Invalid Vassal Module

Postby uckelman » April 12th, 2015, 7:24 pm

Thus spake soc11lax98:
> The problem as you can see is that Vassal will not open any of the
> .vmods. I have referenced viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4222[1] and nothing there
> worked.

> I tried un/re-installing, restarting my computer, I updated JAVA,

I cannot repeat this often enough: Neither reinstalling VASSAL nor Java,
nor rebooting your computer is likely to help with any VASSAL problem
you're having IF you are able to open the module manager. It's not
_impossible_---I know how to concoct such a situation---but there's
almost no way this will happen accidentally.

> I tried changing .vmod to .zip and peazip couldn't open them. I
> tried downloading new copies of vassal

There is no problem you could be having where renaming the module files
could help. VASSAL does not check the extensions of module files.

If you're able to run VASSAL at all, then it's unlikely that your
install is corrupt, and there's hardly any way for that to happen,
regardless.

My guess is that you didn't manage to download correct or complete
copies of the modules you're trying to load.
--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Invalid Vassal Module

Postby uckelman » April 12th, 2015, 7:30 pm

Thus spake soc11lax98:
> Despite the MAX 10kb/s download speed from vassal's servers I managed to
> download each of the files

Is AT&T your ISP?

> (for the 6th time) and miraculously by the
> grace of the computer GODS the vmods some how decided they were ready to
> be detected... needless to say, this was a major pain in the butt and I
> still have no idea why they never worked in the first place nor any idea
> on why they randomly seem to have worked all of a sudden... anyways...
> thanks computer gnomes for making it work...

This is consistent with my suspicion that you didn't completely download
the modules on your previous tries. If you still have any module files
left which don't work, you should compare their sizes with the stated
sizes on their modules pages. I strongly suspect that you will find that
your files are smaller.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron