Create account / Log in

3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby jcbeckman » August 26th, 2015, 12:45 am

Looks like this was loaded by DataDirect SequeLink, which is a JDBC bridge tech - I need that. So if you can tell me how to alter the VASSAL.sh script for that override I'll do that.

Thanks so much for all your work in troubleshooting this problem!
jcbeckman
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 15th, 2015, 12:25 pm

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby Brent Easton » August 26th, 2015, 1:10 am

Try adding

-Djava.ext.dirs=""

to the command line, that should stop it checking the extension directories.

Like so:

java -Duser.dir="$INSTALL_DIR" -Djava.ext.dirs="" -classpath "$INSTALL_DIR"/lib/Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager "$@"
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3090
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby jcbeckman » August 26th, 2015, 1:20 am

I can't make it work. Same exact error. I think the key is here:

VASSAL.tools.io.ProcessLauncher - launching /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.8.0_51.jdk/Contents/Home/jre/bin/java -Xms256M -Xmx512M -DVASSAL.id=1 -DVASSAL.port=49889 -Duser.home=/Users/jbeckman -Duser.dir=/Applications/VASSALmod.app -cp Contents/Resources/Java/Vengine.jar -Xdock:name=Combat Commander: Europe -Xdock:icon=/Applications/VASSALmod.app/Contents/Resources/VASSAL.icns -Dapple.awt.graphics.UseQuartz=false VASSAL.launch.Player --load -- /Volumes/Internal500x/Downloads/Combat_Commander_Europe.vmod

I think maybe this process is getting started without the change. Does that sound right?
jcbeckman
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 15th, 2015, 12:25 pm

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby Brent Easton » August 26th, 2015, 1:36 am

Ah, yes.

We fixed the starting of the Module Manager, but the problem is when the Module manager starts the module up. This command line is built dynamically and we can't change it from outside. This is a Vassal issue that I will need to address. I think the Module Manager prefs needs an option to allow a player to add additional Java options when starting a module.

In the meantime, you might be able to get around this by running the module directly without the module manager. The command line is the same as you show above after the 'launching ', but remove

-DVASSAL.id=1 -DVASSAL.port=49889

and add

--standalone
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3090
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby jcbeckman » August 26th, 2015, 9:52 am

Thanks. I keep running into problems trying to start it; I can't seem to get the syntax right to allow it to work. For now I will just rename the images directory to images.xxx. While I need the JDBC bridge, I don't often go into the help (I think last night to find out what it was was the first time ever). That's a lot easier than trying to get this to work, and if I need the help I can change the name back. I'll watch the release notes and look to see when this gets addressed, but until then you've given me a viable way to run the program. Thank you very much for all your hard work on this!
jcbeckman
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 15th, 2015, 12:25 pm

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby uckelman » September 1st, 2015, 8:54 pm

Thus spake Brent Easton:
> Try adding
>
> -Djava.ext.dirs=""
>
> to the command line, that should stop it checking the extension
> directories.
>
> Like so:
>
> java -Duser.dir="$INSTALL_DIR" -Djava.ext.dirs="" -classpath
> "$INSTALL_DIR"/lib/Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager "$@"
>

I think the right way to solve this would be to set -Djava.ext.dirs=""
by default, for the Module Manager, Player, and Editor. Having
java.ext.dirs set to anything at all will never be right for running
VASSAL, so we could head that off by setting it to an empty string
unconditionally.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby Brent Easton » October 8th, 2016, 2:31 am

A while off and a fresh look at things and I have finally sorted this bug out.

No need to change any Vassal startup scripts or classpaths.

Fix committed @9234 for Vassal 3.2.17
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3090
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: 3.2.15 - Icon Family VASSAL not found

Postby uckelman » November 20th, 2016, 2:22 pm

Thus spake Brent Easton:
> A while off and a fresh look at things and I have finally sorted this
> bug out.
>
> No need to change any Vassal startup scripts or classpaths.
>
> Fix committed @9234 for Vassal 3.2.17

The fix is in the most recent devopment build, 3.2.17-svn9243, available
here:

http://vassalengine.sourceforge.net/builds/

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Previous

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests