Create account / Log in

JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Postby hal752 » December 14th, 2016, 7:34 am

Dear TS,

Since updating my version of Java on 13 December I have been unable to run any Vassal application. I am using Vassal 3.2.16. A copy of the Print Screen giving details of the error is attached.

I am running a Desktop PC

Intel (R) Core (TM) iS - 2400 CPU @ 3.10 GHz 3.40 GHz
Installed RAM - 8GB
System - 64 bit operating system, x 64 - based processor

Windows 10 Version 1607

Any advice you can give would be most welcome.

Henry Bradley
Attachments
Screenshot 2016-12-13 21.30.11.png
Screenshot 2016-12-13 21.30.11.png (187.35 KiB) Viewed 3954 times
hal752
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 27th, 2010, 5:39 pm

Re: JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Postby uckelman » December 14th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Thus spake hal752:
> Dear TS,
>
> Since updating my version of Java on 13 December I have been unable to
> run any Vassal application. I am using Vassal 3.2.16. A copy of the
> Print Screen giving details of the error is attached.
>
> I am running a Desktop PC
>
> Intel (R) Core (TM) iS - 2400 CPU @ 3.10 GHz 3.40 GHz
> Installed RAM - 8GB
> System - 64 bit operating system, x 64 - based processor
>
> Windows 10 Version 1607
>
> Any advice you can give would be most welcome.
>
> Henry Bradley

You have a bad key in your registry. It's possible that uninstalling
and reinstalling Java will fix this.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9500
--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Postby hal752 » December 16th, 2016, 9:53 am

Thank you very much for such a prompt response - re-installing Java has solved the problem

Henry
hal752
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 27th, 2010, 5:39 pm

Re: JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Postby milo67 » January 9th, 2017, 9:59 pm

This is really the solution? I am concerned about breaking the thousand other java-dependant applications I already run. They all seem to run fine, incidentally.
milo67
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 9:57 pm

Re: JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Postby Malnorma » January 10th, 2017, 3:59 am

You can also try to fix the registry manually, but giving instructions for this is unreliable and error prone, because of all the marvellous and interesting ways things can go wrong (especially where Java is involved).

If you're confident, you can grab the Process Monitor tool from Microsoft and follow which registry values are read before the error appears. This can help track down the cause and lead you to a workaround or fix. Reinstalling Java is a lot easier and carries less risk for most users.
Malnorma
 
Posts: 124
Joined: October 14th, 2015, 9:26 am

Re: JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Postby milo67 » January 11th, 2017, 6:53 pm

I will try that...
milo67
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 9:57 pm

Re: JAVA RUNTIME ENVIRONMENT - VASSAL REFUSES TO OPERATE

Postby milo67 » January 11th, 2017, 8:38 pm

Don't know if this helps (or adds to the confusion) I only had to muck about with the JRE. The rest of my Java installations I was able to leave intact.
milo67
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 9:57 pm


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests