Create account / Log in

Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby crozzelle » April 26th, 2017, 1:04 am

After enjoying Vassal for years it now will not start on my laptop (Windows 7; 64 bit, Intel i7-4650 CPU @ 1.70GHz 2.30GHz; 8.00GB RAM; Intel HD graphics 5000). I've updated Java (ver. 8, update 131) and uninstalled/reinstalled Vassal-3.2.17-windows more times than I can count. The icons for both the installer and for Vassal.exe now have the blue/yellow "user account control" shield on them which wasn't there when Vassal worked just fine. I've also cleaned my registry to no avail. Searching for anything on my hard drive with"vassal" in the name yielded a report.wer file that has the following text in it:

Version=1
EventType=PCA2
EventTime=131375742060887463
Consent=1
UploadTime=131375742061043463
ReportIdentifier=d349e466-297d-11e7-bc44-7c7a91d01fb9
Response.BucketId=10
Response.BucketTable=5
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Problem Signature 01
Sig[0].Value=VASSAL.exe
Sig[1].Name=Problem Signature 02
Sig[1].Value=3.2.17.0
Sig[2].Name=Problem Signature 03
Sig[2].Value=VASSAL
Sig[3].Name=Problem Signature 04
Sig[3].Value=VASSAL
Sig[4].Name=Problem Signature 05
Sig[4].Value=Ȁ΃
Sig[5].Name=Problem Signature 06
Sig[5].Value=200
Sig[6].Name=Problem Signature 07
Sig[6].Value=-1
DynamicSig[1].Name=OS Version
DynamicSig[1].Value=6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.4
DynamicSig[2].Name=Locale ID
DynamicSig[2].Value=1033
State[0].Key=Transport.DoneStage1
State[0].Value=1
State[1].Key=DataRequest
State[1].Value=Bucket=10/nBucketTable=5/nResponse=1/nEvent_Kinshu=2592000/nEvent_Throttle=2592000/n
FriendlyEventName=Program Compatibility
ConsentKey=PCA2
AppName=VASSAL
AppPath=C:\Program Files\VASSAL-3.2.17\VASSAL.exe

Hopefully this will unveil the cause of my frustration....

Thanks in advance,
Curt
crozzelle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby RobS » April 26th, 2017, 3:57 pm

The automatic Java update has been the source of issues for the past year or so. I've gotten to the point that whenever I get notice of a Java update, I do it manually, like this:

Go to your Control Panel and delete Java.
Go to the Java website and download and install the latest version.

Let us know if that fixes the issue.
RobS
 
Posts: 91
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 5:10 pm

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby crozzelle » April 26th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Java uninstalled & reinstalled. No difference.

While Java was "missing" I tried Vassal.exe and received an error message saying Java was necessary for Vassal to run. Now it's back to no action & no error message when I try to start Vassal....
crozzelle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby RobS » April 26th, 2017, 6:33 pm

Sorry, that's the extent of my "technical knowledge".
I'm sure someone else will make other suggestions.
RobS
 
Posts: 91
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 5:10 pm

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby uckelman » April 26th, 2017, 10:21 pm

Please look here and follow the steps indicated:

http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/VASSAL_Does_Not_Start

What do you find when you do that?
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby crozzelle » April 27th, 2017, 1:53 am

I find only 1 installation of Java (see above). When I explore C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\VASSAL I find an empty folder.
crozzelle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby uckelman » April 27th, 2017, 12:38 pm

Thus spake crozzelle:
> I find only 1 installation of Java (see above). When I explore
> C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\VASSAL I find an empty folder.

Have you checked that you have 64-bit Java installed instead of 32-bit?

How did you check that you have only one version of Java installed?

Have you checked whether Java works?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby crozzelle » April 27th, 2017, 2:57 pm

I previously installed 64 bit Java & just now tested it using the online verification app at Java.com. It says I have no out of date versions installed and that my current version is the "recommended" one. There is no error message from Java when I try to open Vassal.
crozzelle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby uckelman » April 27th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Thus spake crozzelle:
> I previously installed 64 bit Java & just now tested it using the online
> verification app at Java.com. It says I have no out of date versions
> installed and that my current version is the "recommended" one. There
> is no error message from Java when I try to open Vassal.

1. Have you checked that you have 64-bit Java installed instead of 32-bit?
2. How did you check that you have only one version of Java installed?
3. Have you checked whether Java works?

For 1 and 2, the way to check that is in "Install/Remove Programs" in
the Windows Control Panel.

For 3, please follow the instructions in the "Check whether Java works"
section (http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/VASSAL ... Java_works) and post the output here.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby crozzelle » April 27th, 2017, 4:58 pm

I have now tried both 32 bit & 64 bit Java. Following your instructions: No other versions appear in the list of installed programs; Checking it with the Cmd line yields the appropriate responses. I still have an empty folder where the error log should be ... and Vassal still does not open or report any error when I try to start it.
crozzelle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby uckelman » April 27th, 2017, 5:28 pm

Thus spake crozzelle:
> I have now tried both 32 bit & 64 bit Java.

You should _not_ have 32-bit Java installed. If you do, uninstall it.

> Following your
> instructions: No other versions appear in the list of installed
> programs; Checking it with the Cmd line yields the appropriate
> responses. I still have an empty folder where the error log should be
> ... and Vassal still does not open or report any error when I try to
> start it.

The next thing to check is whether you can start VASSAL manually.

At a command prompt, run:

java -classpath path/to/lib/Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager

where you replace "path/to/" with the path to "lib/Vengine.jar", which
you will find where you installed VASSAL.

What happens when you do that?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby crozzelle » April 27th, 2017, 7:17 pm

After returning to 64 bit Java I found Vengine.jar in 2 places on my hard drive so I tried the command on both and got the same answer each time. Here's what I got in the black box:

Error: Could not find or load main class classpath.
crozzelle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby uckelman » April 27th, 2017, 10:16 pm

Thus spake crozzelle:
> After returning to 64 bit Java I found Vengine.jar in 2 places on my
> hard drive so I tried the command on both and got the same answer each
> time. Here's what I got in the black box:
>
> Error: Could not find or load main class classpath.
>

That means you got the path wrong.

Show me the command prompt, the command you typed, and the result.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby crozzelle » April 27th, 2017, 10:42 pm

The command prompt is C:\Users\cjroz

This time I typed: java -classpath Program Files/Vassal-3.2.17/lib/Vengine.jar

The response was: Error: Could not find or load main class Files.Vassal-3.2.17.lib.Vengine.jar
crozzelle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

Re: Cannot open Vassal any more ...

Postby uckelman » April 27th, 2017, 11:00 pm

Thus spake crozzelle:
> The command prompt is C:\Users\cjroz
>
> This time I typed: java -classpath Program
> Files/Vassal-3.2.17/lib/Vengine.jar
>
> The response was: Error: Could not find or load main class
> Files.Vassal-3.2.17.lib.Vengine.jar

Is Vengine.jar in C:\Users\cjroz\Program Files\Vassal-3.2.17\lib?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Next

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests