Create account / Log in

Can you place more than one hexgrid on a mapboard?

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Can you place more than one hexgrid on a mapboard?

Postby Stiglr » September 10th, 2017, 8:58 pm

I've already had some misfortunes trying to place a hexgrid on a map and having it work with a multi-zone grid.

For one, the "up is down" order of the attributes list tripped me up, and then I found it just didn't work (at some point, a hex grid inside a zone did not report movement in the text buffer), so I had to take a different approach.

So, before I try my next (mis)adventure in this area, I thought I'd pose some questions here.

1) Can you describe a hex grid within a Zone of a multi-zone grid, and*not* have the grid have effect outside the zone you draw?
2) Is it possible to have more than one hex grid on a Map, each drawn within its own (non-overlapping) Zone? And, will both of the grids report proper locations and zone names in the text buffer, if otherwise properly set up to?
Stiglr
 
Posts: 197
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Can you place more than one hexgrid on a mapboard?

Postby Brent Easton » September 10th, 2017, 11:14 pm

1) Can you describe a hex grid within a Zone of a multi-zone grid, and*not* have the grid have effect outside the zone you draw?


Yes. Make sure you define the grids within the zone and do not specify a background grid at the board level. Or at least, make sure you do not check the 'Use board's grid' option in the zone.

2) Is it possible to have more than one hex grid on a Map, each drawn within its own (non-overlapping) Zone? And, will both of the grids report proper locations and zone names in the text buffer, if otherwise properly set up to?


Yes, it certainly is, most of my modules have sub-grids defined within map zones to handle on-map tracks and unit boxes. Make sure you change the Location Format of the Zone to include $gridLocation$ rather than the default $name$. This causes any movement report to include the Grid Location generated by the enclosed grid, rather than the name of the Zone.
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: Can you place more than one hexgrid on a mapboard?

Postby Stiglr » September 11th, 2017, 4:24 am

Indeed, and thanks. I pushed on and discovered all this during the afternoon. Provided the zones don't overlap, you CAN get that effect. Nice to know. Previously I was having no luck, but come to find that was because I was not editing the grid location at the Zone level, but the Grid level.
Stiglr
 
Posts: 197
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Can you place more than one hexgrid on a mapboard?

Postby Brent Easton » September 11th, 2017, 5:03 am

If the Zones do overlap, then the zone that is recorded first in the
grid will take precedence.

On 11/09/2017 2:24 PM, Stiglr via messages wrote:
> Indeed, and thanks.  I pushed on and discovered all this during the
> afternoon. Provided the zones don't overlap, you CAN get that effect.
> Nice to know.  Previously I was having no luck, but come to find that
> was because I was not editing the grid location at the Zone level, but
> the Grid level.

--
____________________________________________________________
Brent Easton
Analyst/Programmer
Western Sydney University
Email: b.easton@exemail.com.au

_______________________________________________
messages mailing list
messages@vassalengine.org
http://www.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia


Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests