Create account / Log in

Problem opening new modules

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Problem opening new modules

Postby Nibelungen90 » September 29th, 2017, 8:28 am

Model: ACER ASPIRE V NITRO
Operating System: WINDOWS 8.1
CPU: Intel Core i7-4720hq 2.60GHZ
RAM: 16Gig
JAVA: version 8 update 144 -> 64bits
Video: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 // NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M (not active when running VASSAL)
VASSAL: 3.2.17
Module: Holland44_v0_91

Problem:

When opening the module for the first time through the main program of Vassal I get the message "The file 'C:\Users\Philippe\Desktop\VASSAL\Holland 44\Holland44_v0_91.vmod' is not a valid VASSAL module".


2017-09-29 10:27:42,699 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2017-09-29 10:27:42,714 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 8.1 6.3
2017-09-29 10:27:42,714 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.8.0_144
2017-09-29 10:27:42,714 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.17
2017-09-29 10:27:42,761 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2017-09-29 10:27:51,887 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction - -- Load of C:\Users\Philippe\Desktop\VASSAL\Holland 44\Holland44_v0_91.vmod failed: Not a Vassal module
User avatar
Nibelungen90
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 25th, 2015, 10:13 am
Location: Antwerp, Belgium

Re: Problem opening new modules

Postby uckelman » September 29th, 2017, 12:47 pm

Thus spake Nibelungen90:
> Model: ACER ASPIRE V NITRO
> Operating System: WINDOWS 8.1
> CPU: Intel Core i7-4720hq 2.60GHZ
> RAM: 16Gig
> JAVA: version 8 update 144 -> 64bits
> Video: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 // NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M (not
> active when running VASSAL)
> VASSAL: 3.2.17
> Module: Holland44_v0_91
>
> Problem:
>
> When opening the module for the first time through the main program of
> Vassal I get the message "The file
> 'C:\Users\Philippe\Desktop\VASSAL\Holland 44\Holland44_v0_91.vmod' is
> not a valid VASSAL module".

Are you trying to open it using "Import Module"? You should be using
"Open Module". ("Import" is for converting other file formats.)

If you're already using "Open Module", then the issue is that the file
you're trying to open isn't a module, which could mean that you had a
bad download.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Problem opening new modules

Postby Nibelungen90 » September 29th, 2017, 1:04 pm

I managed to solve the problem. First I removed JAVA and reinstalled it. Afterwards I removed my VASSAL mod download and got myself a new download.

Then I opened the module again and it's fixed. Guess it had something to do with my JAVA installment and replacing the VASSAL mod to another root file.

Many thanks for your quick answer.
User avatar
Nibelungen90
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 25th, 2015, 10:13 am
Location: Antwerp, Belgium

Re: Problem opening new modules

Postby uckelman » September 29th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Thus spake Nibelungen90:
> I managed to solve the problem. First I removed JAVA and reinstalled it.

This was almost certainly not the solution, since the errorLog you
posted showed that VASSAL was running.

> Afterwards I removed my VASSAL mod download and got myself a new
> download.

Most likely you had a corrupt download.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests