Create account / Log in

Vassal has stopped working for me

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Vassal has stopped working for me

Postby Bindusri » September 1st, 2019, 1:16 pm

Hi there,

I have been using VASSAL for several years >5 when it has recently stopped working on 29 August 2019.
I click on Vassal and it no longer opens. Prior to this I was losing the modules I had already loaded and was required to reload them every once and awhile.
Would appreciate any help you could provide.

thanks Bindusri

information requested:
Model: ASUS F102B
OS: Windows 10 Home
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.20GHz
Memory: 4.00GB (3.44 GB usable)
Video: AMD A4-1200 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics 1.00 GHz
VASSAL: 3.2.17
Java: 1.8.0_211-b11
Module: Paths of Glory
Bindusri
 
Posts: 14
Joined: June 13th, 2012, 9:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Vassal has stopped working for me

Postby Bindusri » September 2nd, 2019, 3:02 am

Sorry that should be:

Model: ASUS F102B
OS: Windows 10 Home
CPU: AMD A4-1200 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics 1.00 GHz
Memory: 4.00GB (3.44 GB usable)
Video: AMD Radeon HD 8180
VASSAL: 3.2.17
Java: 1.8.0_211-b11
Module: Paths of Glory

Tried running to trouble shooting tool on in which recommended trying VASSAL on Windows 8 but that did not work either.

Appreciate any suggestions or help you can provide.
thanks Bindusri
Bindusri
 
Posts: 14
Joined: June 13th, 2012, 9:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Vassal has stopped working for me

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2019, 11:34 pm

User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8065
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal has stopped working for me

Postby Bindusri » September 12th, 2019, 1:33 pm

Thanks uckelman, it contains:

2019-09-07 17:41:28,684 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2019-09-07 17:41:28,733 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 10 10.0
2019-09-07 17:41:28,734 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.8.0_221
2019-09-07 17:41:28,735 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.17
2019-09-07 17:41:36,532 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2019-09-07 17:41:42,077 [0-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog -
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Malformed \uxxxx encoding.
at java.util.Properties.loadConvert(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.8.0_221]
at java.util.Properties.load0(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.8.0_221]
at java.util.Properties.load(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.8.0_221]
at VASSAL.preferences.Prefs.read(Prefs.java:192) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at VASSAL.preferences.Prefs.<init>(Prefs.java:74) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at VASSAL.preferences.Prefs.getGlobalPrefs(Prefs.java:271) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager.<init>(ModuleManager.java:352) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager.main(ModuleManager.java:183) ~[Vengine.jar:na]

Hope this means something to you.

cheers Bindusri
Bindusri
 
Posts: 14
Joined: June 13th, 2012, 9:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Vassal has stopped working for me

Postby uckelman » September 13th, 2019, 9:49 pm

Your global prefs file is corrupt. Look for prefs/V_Global and either delete the file or edit out the offending character. You'll find prefs in the same directory as VASSAL's errorLog.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8065
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal has stopped working for me

Postby Bindusri » September 15th, 2019, 11:37 am

Thank you uckelman you have solved my problem.

cheers Bindusri
Bindusri
 
Posts: 14
Joined: June 13th, 2012, 9:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests