Create account / Log in

Could I play Vassal on a Chromebook?

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Could I play Vassal on a Chromebook?

Postby fatgreta » September 30th, 2019, 7:10 pm

For some reason I think no, but would like to be certain.
fatgreta
 
Posts: 79
Joined: December 28th, 2008, 9:39 pm

Re: Could I play Vassal on a Chromebook?

Postby JoelCFC25 » September 30th, 2019, 7:46 pm

A Chromebook out of the box? No.

The basic hurdle to overcome is that ChromeOS doesn't come with a Java virtual machine. It's not impossible to do, but depending on one's computer savvy it might not be for the faint of heart.

Example Google searches that will surface a bunch of guides to the process include (but are not limited to):
"chromebook Java"
"chromebook jvm"
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 558
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Could I play Vassal on a Chromebook?

Postby fatgreta » October 1st, 2019, 2:46 pm

OK thanks for the advice. I may dive in and give that a try, we'll see.
fatgreta
 
Posts: 79
Joined: December 28th, 2008, 9:39 pm

Re: Could I play Vassal on a Chromebook?

Postby fsiefken » October 11th, 2019, 10:22 am

Hi, you could if you manage to install ubuntu through for example crouton.
https://www.linux.com/tutorials/how-eas ... k-crouton/

ubuntu runs java, in a similar way I managed to install Vassal on my Oculus Quest ad Go so I've got a bigger screen to play with. They run a locked down version of Android, but it's possible to get it working through termux and vnc. You definitely need more advanced linux experience, but it's possible.
fsiefken
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 18th, 2010, 9:04 am

Re: Could I play Vassal on a Chromebook?

Postby fatgreta » October 13th, 2019, 1:53 am

fsiefken wrote:Hi, you could if you manage to install ubuntu through for example crouton.
https://www.linux.com/tutorials/how-eas ... k-crouton/

ubuntu runs java, in a similar way I managed to install Vassal on my Oculus Quest ad Go so I've got a bigger screen to play with. They run a locked down version of Android, but it's possible to get it working through termux and vnc. You definitely need more advanced linux experience, but it's possible.


All of that except knowing what ubuntu is is Greek to me, so I'm going to assume it's over my head, but thanks for trying to help (even if I'm beyond all real help..)
fatgreta
 
Posts: 79
Joined: December 28th, 2008, 9:39 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests