Create account / Log in

Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby Stiglr » December 1st, 2019, 7:19 pm

This is becoming a worrisome trend, and I do NOT LIKE IT ONE BIT!!! :evil:

While trying to edit modules and swap out maps, Vassal is now displaying the Processing Image Tiles dialog .... and it never gets past 0% which would happen with varying speeds before. It just sits there, like a stale fart.

Then, the interface comes up and, when you try to launch a new game, shows Bad Data for the map (which seemingly never loaded in the first place). What's going ON with this???? I am not doing anything different than I've done while editing modules for YEARS now.

I don't know if this makes any difference whatsoever, but the last times this has happened, I've been editing a module that had Vassal-generated pieces instead of scanned artwork.

I'm not getting any crashes or problems saving, so there's no bug report.
Attachments
No_processing.PNG
No_processing.PNG (46.92 KiB) Viewed 376 times
Stiglr
 
Posts: 193
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 1st, 2019, 9:04 pm

Have you tried launching VASSAL, then immediately going to Tools -> Clear Tile Cache? Note that after doing this, tiling will occur one time for modules that wouldn't normally need it done.

Just wondering if something got messed up in the tile cache.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 579
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby Stiglr » December 2nd, 2019, 8:24 pm

Yes, but the program HUNG leaving an inoperative module list screen.
Stiglr
 
Posts: 193
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby zgrose » December 2nd, 2019, 8:36 pm

The Error Log in the Help menu often has useful information in it.
zgrose
 
Posts: 46
Joined: September 8th, 2010, 4:31 am

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 2nd, 2019, 9:15 pm

If using the built-in command to clear the tile cache isn't working, the manual equivalent would be deleting the contents of the tiles folder altogether.

It's found at: C:\Users\*your-username-here*\AppData\Roaming\VASSAL\tiles
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 579
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby Stiglr » December 3rd, 2019, 1:11 am

Thank you! I was snooping around in the Vassal root directory and couldn't find anything....
Stiglr
 
Posts: 193
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby Stiglr » December 3rd, 2019, 1:30 am

Hmmmm. I managed to get a Clear Tile Cache command completed, but now, the file stops at 11% of the tiling process. I'm now looking into possible file corruption for the map file I'm trying to swap out, but can't imagine why that file would be problematic....
Stiglr
 
Posts: 193
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 3rd, 2019, 2:10 pm

Did you create the image file yourself or did it come from someone else? If you link it I can throw it in a test module and see if I can get it to tile.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 579
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby Stiglr » December 3rd, 2019, 3:59 pm

Figured it out. The map was an export from Illustrator, but it was based in CYMK, instead of RGB. Even though the file was always a .jpg, the CYMK didn't play well with Vassal. Once I re-exported a RGB .JPG, the file would load properly.

Whew. Sonething else to remember when building modules.

Thanks for the help in tracking down this issue
Stiglr
 
Posts: 193
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 3rd, 2019, 4:33 pm

Ah yes--the CMYK model is largely for physical printing applications where you need screen-to-paper color fidelity. Stick with RGB for things that will always remain digital and be displayed on screens...I'm pretty sure this yields a much broader range of potential colors anyway.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 579
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby uckelman » December 3rd, 2019, 11:11 pm

Thus spake Stiglr via messages:
> Figured it out. The map was an export from Illustrator, but it was based
> in CYMK, instead of RGB. Even though the file was always a .jpg, the
> CYMK didn't play well with Vassal. Once I re-exported a RGB .JPG, the
> file would load properly.
>
> Whew. Sonething else to remember when building modules.
>
> Thanks for the help in tracking down this issue

Oh, that's an interesting problem. Would I be able to get a copy of the
offending image?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8130
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby Stiglr » December 5th, 2019, 1:41 am

I suppose I could get you one. What's the best way to transfer it? Email, DropBox, or....?
Stiglr
 
Posts: 193
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby uckelman » December 11th, 2019, 9:51 pm

I'd still appreciate having a copy of that image. I can't seem to create any JPEGs with CMYK profiles myself.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8130
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby uckelman » December 12th, 2019, 12:20 am

Never mind, I managed to create a JPEG with a CMYK color profile. (These must be extremely rare in the wild.) The stack trace the tiler produces is this:

Code: Select all
VASSAL.tools.image.ImageIOException: images/scale_cmyk.jpg
   at VASSAL.tools.image.ImageIOImageLoader.wrapImageIO(ImageIOImageLoader.java:463)
   at VASSAL.tools.image.ImageIOImageLoader.load(ImageIOImageLoader.java:376)
   at VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.FileArchiveImageTiler.run(FileArchiveImageTiler.java:77)
   at VASSAL.tools.image.tilecache.ZipFileImageTiler.main(ZipFileImageTiler.java:173)
Caused by: javax.imageio.IIOException: Unsupported Image Type
   at java.desktop/com.sun.imageio.plugins.jpeg.JPEGImageReader.readInternal(JPEGImageReader.java:1139)
   at java.desktop/com.sun.imageio.plugins.jpeg.JPEGImageReader.read(JPEGImageReader.java:1110)
   at java.desktop/javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(ImageIO.java:1468)
   at VASSAL.tools.image.ImageIOImageLoader$1.run(ImageIOImageLoader.java:483)
   at VASSAL.tools.image.ImageIOImageLoader$1.run(ImageIOImageLoader.java:469)
   at VASSAL.tools.image.ImageIOImageLoader.wrapImageIO(ImageIOImageLoader.java:428)
   ... 3 common frames omitted


There's not much we can do about the root cause, which is that Java's JPEG decoder has no idea what to do with a CMYK color profile.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8130
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Won't Process Image Files?????

Postby Stiglr » December 13th, 2019, 2:49 am

Indeed. I didn't think it would make a difference; I thought if it was a "viable" .jpg (or .png, for that matter) it would play fine with any app that treated such files as valid. Live and learn, eh?
Stiglr
 
Posts: 193
Joined: June 28th, 2014, 12:06 am

Next

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest