Create account / Log in

Vassal on Mac vs Windows

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Vassal on Mac vs Windows

Postby ajkiger » April 7th, 2017, 8:07 pm

I've been playing some Vassal (version 3.2.17) modules on my Mac (macOS Sierra v 10.12.1) and have become used to the functionality on the Mac.
Recently, I was on my sons Window machine and tried out Vassal and noticed Vassal works a lot better on the Windows machine than it does on the Mac.

It's just the little things, but for example (on a mac) when you draw a piece from a deck and drag it to a location on the map (deck located on the same window as the map), a rectangle extends from the deck to the piece you just drew from the deck and any current pieces on the map that falls within that rectangle becomes selected with the peace you just drew from the deck. It's kind of a pain, you get use to just clicking on the map to deselect everything, but if you don't, then you end up inadvertently moving all the pieces if you move your new piece again.

This doesn't happen on the window machine - no rectangle extends from the deck to your new piece and you don't inadvertently select a bunch of other pieces. Kind of nice.

Any way the Mac Vassal version can be updated with the same functionality as the Windows Vassal version?

Andy
ajkiger
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 7th, 2016, 5:30 pm

Re: Vassal on Mac vs Windows

Postby a7xfanben » April 9th, 2017, 4:07 pm

Interesting, I have a Windows machine and I experience the exact problem you describe.
a7xfanben
 
Posts: 9
Joined: January 30th, 2016, 4:24 am

Re: Vassal on Mac vs Windows

Postby ajkiger » April 9th, 2017, 4:23 pm

Maybe it's a Java problem.
I'm using a Windows 10 machine updated with the latest java (java 8 update 121)
ajkiger
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 7th, 2016, 5:30 pm

Re: Vassal on Mac vs Windows

Postby ajkiger » April 9th, 2017, 7:08 pm

I tried updating the Java on my Mac (macOS Sierra v 10.12.1) to the latest java (java 8 update 121) to see if I could get the same functionality I have on my Windows 10 machine. Once I made the update, Vassal was seriously degraded on my Mac to the point I couldn't even play a game on it. I had to revert back to Java 8 update 111 on my Mac to get Vassal working again. Still have the selection rectangle inadvertently appearing when drawing an item from a deck though.
Works great on the Windows 10 machine with java 8 updater 121, no selection rectangle appears when drawing an item from a deck.

Andy
ajkiger
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 7th, 2016, 5:30 pm

Re: Vassal on Mac vs Windows

Postby uckelman » July 4th, 2017, 8:41 pm

The things you're describing here are very likely bugs in recent versions of Java, not in VASSAL itself. As such, there's little we can do about them. This kind of thing will cease to be an an issue once we're no longer using Java in VASSAL 4.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7951
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest