- KC, TC, ZC you all know how to play, one of you b'atchs better be ready and on soon
Locate Rule Book
RULES ERRATA Reinforcement: The rulebook states that players get 5 reinforcement points, plus 2 per island they control. This is incorrect due to an error in the rulebook. The correct reinforcement scheme is that each player gets 10 reinforcement, plus 4 per island they control. The game is playable either way, but Avalon Hill recommends playing the correct way (10 and 4 per). We are sorry for any inconvenience this causes.
Frequently Asked Questions
Transporting units: Q: The rules state that you may load and move transports. Can you move and then load? For instance I have an empty transport in sea zone J and I move it to sea zone K and load 2 infantry on it from Malaita (in order to evacuate them), is that allowed? Or must you do it in the order load first and move second? A: No. Load first, move second.
Q: The rules indicate that "you may load land units and supplies from adjacent island zones onto transports." Can I load a single transport with units from more than one island, or must the units that load onto a transports originate from the same island? A: You can load up your transports from different places as long as the transport has not moved yet.
Combat: Q: With regard to artillery attacking naval units, when artillery is attacking a sea unit is it required for friendly naval units to be present in that battle? For instance, can Allied artillery on Guadalcanal fire on an Axis destroyer in sea zone H even if there are no Allied naval units in sea zone H? A: Yes. Units do not need any help to fire into adjacent zones. Much of the game is about trying to get free shots such as these.
Q: The rules state âEach cruiser or battleship may fire into only 1 adjacent island zone each turn." Is it required to have land units attacking that sea zone in order to use the naval units to attack? Or can the naval units simply take "pot shots" on the island? A: Yes, you can take pot shots on the island - free shots are part of the strategy in the game.
Q: If an aircraft carrier is hit by a submarine, does it lose the fighters? A: No, the fighters have a chance to find a place to land. They are considered in the air at the time the Carrier is sunk.
Q: When artillery or ships attack an adjacent space, do all pieces in the same space have to attack the same adjacent space, or can you split them up? A: You can split them up. Artillery, Battleships, and Cruisers can only fire into 1 zone per turn. The attacker must declare how many they are applying when the attack occurs in each zone. You can split them.
Q: If there are two of your battleships in a sea zone, can you ignore the first two battleship hits? Or does it depend on whether the second hit was a 1 or a 2? A: If you have two battleships in the same zone, ignore the first two hits on battleships, regardless of what they are. This relationship remains true if you have more battleships as well (ignore 3 with 3 in the zone, etc.). This is a bit vague in the rulebook.
Q: "An aircraft can't land on a damaged airfield, even if it didn't move from that island zone this turn." Does this mean that when an airfield is damaged all air units must move to another landing spot during the Regroup phase even if they didn't move at all this turn? A: Yes. Otherwise itâs like they got bombed along with the airfield.
Q: With regards to Advantage tokens: Banzai Charge is used "before the land combat step begins". Night Fighting is used "before the sea combat step begins". However, PT Boats is used "before sea combat begins". Is this wording difference intentional? Does PT Boats get played before any specific sea combat, or is it played before any combat of that type occurs, as Banzai Charge and Night Fighting are? A: They are intended to work the same way, to be used at the beginning of combat in each zone.
Control of Island Zones, Supplies, and Airfields: Q: If an opposing player captures an airfield but the aircraft are still on the airstrip (i.e. they were not moved that turn), then what happens to aircraft in that airfield? Must it find a new place to land or be destroyed? A: All aircraft are considered to be flying every turn. If they donât move, they are just in the air defending the zone. They would need to find a new place to land or be destroyed.
Q: For the purpose of determining control are supply tokens considered units? For instance, if have only 2 supply tokens and no other units on an island zone but I have a battleship in an adjacent sea zone, then is my land attack power 2 or does the other player instead gain control of my markers. A: Supply tokens are tokens, not units.
Q: If I land supplies onto an island zone with only enemy units, then what happens? A: They fall under control of the opposing player. I wouldnât recommend starting the relief effort until after the warâ¦
Q: If a player controls an island zone do they control all of the airfields? A: If there are airfields constructed by an opponent and the opponent still has land units on the island, then the opponent controls the airfield. One player can control an island while the other can control airfields. It is even possible for both players to control an airfield on the same island. Airfields and supplies only change control when all the units defending them are gone.
Q: Can I build and airfield on an island that I do not control? A: Yes, you enough supplies present, and an empty airfield slot. This is a dangerous tactic, but useful if you plan on booting the enemy out soon.
Reinforce, Repair, and Deploy Q: If I buy a transport, destroyer, or aircraft carrier, I can immediately load units from the base card, does that include both units that were left over from a previous turn and ones just now purchased? A: Yes. You can load anything from the base.
Q: Can I deploy any unit from the base card or only units that I purchased this turn? A: Any sea unit and they can be loaded immediately.
Q: If a transport, destroyer, or aircraft carrier was already present on the base card before the reinforce step, can I load it with any unit from the base card including units purchased this turn or units present from a previous turn? A: Yes, you can. The intent is that any unit deployed into the front by spending supplies can be loaded with units. This is unclear in the rulebook.
Q: Can a battleship adjacent to two different island zones with friendly land units on each exert its land attack influence on both island zones to determine control of the island? A: Yes. That's why the slot is so important.
Movement: Q: Can you move units from the front back to the base card? A: You can move sea units from the main board back to the base as 1 move from the two connecting zones. This is important for transports to travel back and pick up more units.
Q: What are the different ways I can move sea units from my base card to the main board? A: You can pay supplies during deployment or move them up doing the move phase.
Q: When do you decide which sea zone artillery will attack, or which island a ship will attack? A: When each individual attack on a zone is resolved. You need to remember that it has fired so that it doesnât fire twice. You can do this by putting it on its side or marking it with a counter.