Create account / Log in

RGhost issue

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

RGhost issue

Postby tbergenhill » February 24th, 2021, 1:08 pm

I am trying to build the latest code (3.5.2) using "mvnw install". When it gets to the documentation phase, asciidoctorj produces the following error:

Code: Select all
Ghostscript not found in your system environment (mswin32).
Install it and set the variable RGhost::Config::GS[:path] with the executable.
Example: RGhost::Config::GS[:path]='/path/to/my/gs' #unix-style
 RGhost::Config::GS[:path]="C:\\gs\\bin\\gswin32c.exe"  #windows-style


I have GhostScript 9.53.3 installed. I also have Ruby 27 installed, with the RGhost in its gems. In the rghost.rb file, I set RGhost::Config::GS[:path] to point to gswin64c.exe, and I have successfully run a 'hello rghost' Ruby program to verify it works. I have set both GEM_HOME and GEM_PATH to the parent directory of all the gems.

I am running mvnw out of a Git Bash (WINGW64) shell. I am using Java v11.0.5 to compile.

What else do I need to do to convince asciidoctorj that I have Ghostscript installed?
tbergenhill
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 24th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Re: RGhost issue

Postby jrwatts » February 25th, 2021, 1:49 am

No idea if this will help your problem, but the latest stable release of Java 11 is 11.0.10 (at least, that what my Kubuntu system has auto-updated to). Updating might help (although it's doubtful).
jrwatts
 
Posts: 304
Joined: April 29th, 2020, 10:30 pm

Re: RGhost issue

Postby uckelman » February 25th, 2021, 11:28 am

It's nothing to do with Java.

This is happening on our build system on Travis, which is also Ubuntu, but doesn't happen for me locally on Fedora. If you figure out what's wrong, I'd appreciate knowing.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9352
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: RGhost issue

Postby tbergenhill » February 25th, 2021, 1:51 pm

Are any of the VASSAL developers using Windows? I should have mentioned that I'm on a Windows 10 machine.

When I get a free moment, I'll try compiling the asciidoctorj code and run a test program, to see if I can convince it where to find Ghostscript.
tbergenhill
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 24th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Re: RGhost issue

Postby uckelman » February 28th, 2021, 10:40 pm

I switched our CI setup from Travis---where this wasn't working---to GitHub Actions just now. What we're using on GitHub Actions for builds looks like Ubuntu 18.04.5 right now. Initially I was getting the same error as above, but after installing ghostscript ('sudo apt-get install ghostscript'), the asciidoc plugin was satisfied and I no longer have a problem.

You can see build logs here: https://github.com/vassalengine/vassal/actions
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9352
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: RGhost issue

Postby tbergenhill » March 2nd, 2021, 2:39 pm

OK - it builds on Ubuntu. Has anyone been successful in building VASSAL on Windows?
tbergenhill
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 24th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Re: RGhost issue

Postby tbergenhill » April 15th, 2021, 7:13 pm

I attempted to build the latest code base (3.5.5) on Windows, and I still get the same RGhost error as in the top post. Any suggestions on how to convince asciidoctorj that I do have ghostscript installed?
tbergenhill
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 24th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Re: RGhost issue

Postby uckelman » April 15th, 2021, 7:25 pm

Brent and I were wrestling with this earlier today, without any success.

What's the path to your Ghostscript executable?
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9352
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: RGhost issue

Postby Cattlesquat » April 15th, 2021, 7:30 pm

I run Windows and I'm able to build/use/develop with the latest code base (I use the IntelliJ IDE).

HOWEVER, the project does NOT build in maven for me -- I get the same ghostscript error as you.

On the other hand, I never actually noticed that in all these months, since I don't really need to build the full maven-whatever in order to develop on the codebase. I only end up running mvn commands "when something goes wrong" and I need to force some kind of project cleanup.

Brian
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: RGhost issue

Postby Cattlesquat » April 15th, 2021, 9:06 pm

We wrestled around some more and then discovered this:

https://github.com/asciidoctor/asciidoc ... ssues/1790

Which makes it look like asciidoctor fixed this issue in October, but the latest release of the maven-plugin version was in September (dun dun DUNH).
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: RGhost issue

Postby Cattlesquat » April 15th, 2021, 10:08 pm

Confirmed asciidoctor "is just broken on Windows right now".

Here you can follow our tale of woe, despair, and possible-eventual-redemption:
https://github.com/asciidoctor/asciidoc ... issues/527
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: RGhost issue

Postby tbergenhill » April 16th, 2021, 11:08 am

Thanks for tracking this down with the asciidoctor-maven-plugin developer! In the meantime, I'll just skip the asciidoctor step of the build.
tbergenhill
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 24th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Re: RGhost issue

Postby uckelman » April 17th, 2021, 3:07 pm

Try setting "-Dasciidoctor.attributes=!optimize" as an argument when you run maven. (This was suggested by one of the asciidoctor devs.)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9352
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests